We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK. It's a diner...”
Review of Elgin Street Diner

Elgin Street Diner
Ranked #36 of 2,749 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's OK. It's a diner...”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Location on Elgin St. is fine. Close proximity to many other places with patios but it's open 24 hours so that's a plus. The food is OK. Was there this past weekend and while it was busy, there should be no excuse for cold sides (fries). Friendly staff and the place is clean.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cdn_explorer1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    207
    104
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the holy grail of diners”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Every time I visit Ottawa, I make a habit of having a meal at the Elgin St. Diner. My meal is usually some combination of their poutine (perfect gravy and curds) and a milk-shake (thick, delicious, cold - perfect!). It is always jarring to have to walk up to the register to pay though.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank treatyoselfTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A very good diner... worth the walk”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

While in Ottawa for a conference, my family and some friends went to this diner (the latter wanted to make sure we experience it before heading home). This experience is all about eating a good meal, not about the decor or scenery.

Our server was quick and attentive. We ordered a variety of dishes: cheeseburger, club sandwich, liver, etc., and everyone was satisfied and full. No one claimed this was the best [ ____ ] (fill in the blank) they had ever eaten. The food was not about that... it was, again, about filling your belly with good-tasting food. I would eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MisterBungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Hungry and on the go”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Diner is just that, food for people who are hungry, and need to fuel up. Basic diner, value for money. Nothing else.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank UnforgettableRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
167 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Bought Myself A Souvenir Mug”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Came to this diner for breakfast on the recommendation of an Ottawa local. Described as the most "local experience" breakfast was typical Canadian and delicious. The children had hotcakes with maple syrup while I enjoyed bacon and eggs which came with beans in a tomato sauce which is Canadian.

Price was fair and service was very friendly. They sell their Elgin Street Diner Coffee mugs which make for a nice souvenir.

I will have breakfast here again some day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TokyoSommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elgin Street Diner also viewed

 

Been to Elgin Street Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing