We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, inventive, expensive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Navarra by Rene Rodriguez

Navarra by Rene Rodriguez
Ranked #302 of 2,713 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent, inventive, expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We shared 4 dishes, all 4 delicious with a extra little twist that you don't get elsewhere. Most memorable the foie gras with whisky, lemon, cherry, and coffee(!) flavours; then the dungeness crab with grapefruit and vanilla. Wines OK, not super special (and that's OK with us).

It is quite pricey and you are unabashedly paying for the human contribution - the inventiveness of the recipes, the artistic touch in putting it together, and extremely good service.

Tables around us both had the chocolate "ritual" for desert - seeing it happen, it's clearly also an intriguing mix of flavours, but there is a lot of show about it and we had had our fill, and had unfussy tasty dessert at Le Moulin the Provence down the street. But we'll be back here soon for savory stuff!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Montrealais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    58
    27
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Will be returning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This was an amazing dining experience. My rabbit confit was awesome... As was the mushroom starter. The seasoning was perfect and the portions were pretty decent. My partner had pig belly and loved it as well. I wish I saved room for dessert. I love Mexican/Spanish inspired food but had never had it taken up a knotch like it was here. Will definitely be returning.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Splendid service, extremely overpriced and deceiving”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I must confess that when our lovely friend chose to go to Navarra, I was under the impression of having a great culinary experience of fusion tapas at a Spanish restaurant. Sadly, I do not understand why people here in Ottawa are over rating this place, when in reality the food was simply okay, made with very inexpensive (not to say CHEAP) ingredients, and priced 5 times what it would really cost preparing the meals. Don't get me wrong, I love international cuisine and one of my favorites is Mexican food but I would never pay that much money for simply mediocre flavors when you can find better venues with excellent dishes for this type of food in Ottawa and for a quarter of the price. There are places in Ottawa, such as Milagros, Pancho Villa, Tacos Mauro, Corazon de Maiz and lastly, Ahora (which btw is just edible and nothing else).
Navarra restaurant was such a disappointment because the theme and the restaurant depicts a Spanish European flair and it was far fetch from reality. The wine list was terrible (again inexpensive wines from Argentina and South America with hardly any good selection from Spain) and priced to $32 per 1/2 a liter. You can probably buy the same wines at LCBO for $10 or $15 per bottle.
To be fair, three out of the six dishes that we ordered, the Rabbit enchilada ($30), the chile relleno ($20 +) and seviche ($20) were the best of the bunch. Sadly, the Oaxaca Mole dish was watered down and added figs, changing the usually complex and rich flavors of chocolate, nuts, chiles and spices. This was a disappointment because I was looking forward to it since I ate it in New York City and Oaxaca City and absolutely LOVED it). I guess the good intentions of creating a gourmet fusion Mexican cuisine were there but then call it what it really is and be proud of it. Enhance the flavors and show case the best of the best in Mexican cooking- which is incredible when you try unique dishes from the country. Finally, the service was AMAZING and we left a hefty tip to our waiter because he was exceptional despite the above mentioned!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dariodiaz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This restaurant just never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have been to Navarra twice in the past two months, both times with 'foodie' friends of ours. Each time the kitchen cranked out flavourful, unique completely scrumptious food. Each time the wine was terrific and each time our servers were attentive, knowledgeable and pleasant. Easily our favourite restaurant in Ottawa. Not to be missed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JJWooge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“pricey & delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

if you like your food flavorful and artistic, this is the place. went last night for an unorthodox belated christmas dinner, and it definitely fit the bill. we ordered 4 cold plates between 2 of us - sea scallop ceviche, salt roasted beet salad, spanish serrano ham, and dungeness crab salad. my personal fave was the scallop dish - the pairing of the scallop, lime, lychees and jalapeno made for an amazing flavor combination. the same can be said for the beet salad and ham dishes - the most well crafted culmination of flavors that i have ever tasted - each dish seemed to have something acidic paired with something sweet and fruity - phenomenal. husband's favorite was the crab salad - the grapefruit, vanilla and sesame flavours were unreal. the place is very low key, service was great, and excellent mojitos! prices are steep, but definitely a must try. hope you like U2!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank listophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Navarra by Rene Rodriguez also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Navarra by Rene Rodriguez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing