We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold steak - Wrong Order” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Ottawa Manor

The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Ottawa Manor
Ranked #91 of 2,709 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cold steak - Wrong Order”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Let us start with the good. My wife had filet mignon (medium) and she loved it. As well, she loved the garlic mashed potatoes and the pepper and aspargus though fairly plain was edible. Two things she did not like were the Tiger Shrimp on a stick (she likes them drier) and their signature dessert mocha ice cream cake. The bread and butter served at beginning was very good though my wife eats gluten free.
Now the bad, the NY Steak (rare) was refrigerator cold in large part of the center - pretty rookie mistake for a a steakhouse they obviously did not allow the steak to sit long enough at room temperature before cooking. Nothing ruins a steak dinner like a cold steak (I did not complain though - just will avoid all Kegs in future and never ever recommend to family and friends). It is my second bad experience with the Keg there will not be a third. Second bad thing, my order was wrong, I also ordered Oscar shrimp and scallop in a sauce and got instead the Tiger Shrimp on a stick (I do not like them dry so this wasn't too much of a hardship). The asparagus was, however, dry and inedible and I hated the signature dessert as well. Oh and I should mention the crappy high traffic seating as well.
Over terrible experience, but as it was a couples night out etiquette demands you just grin and bear it and don't come back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank findingthosegems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    59
    27
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Quebec
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

OK I thought the food would have been much better but to my surprise it was horrible. I had a new york steak and it was almost cold. My friends had another type of steak and they also complained it was too cold. My friend ordered a shrimp appetizer and they found shells in it. At least the service was excellent and the manager was very nice and apologetic. He gave us free deserts.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fpaquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Service Xmas Eve.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

P Lafleur
We had made reservation for Xmas Eve. It was my son Birthday .Who is 38 years of age. We had reservation for 7:30 .We were not able to make until 7:40.We did call to say we would be a little late. Arrived was seated and was served right away..
The waitress did let us know .That she was hoping to make it to Xmas mass.Which we thought that was fine.. Unfortunately we were rushed. Our bill for 4 people was $285.00. The food was great. We were out of the restaurant by 9:20 PM.
Idid called the owner on this situation .Stating what had happen to us. He was very understanding. He said I will call you Mon.Which he did and handle our situation .
Would I go back of course .Due to the good customer service we had from the owner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patricialafleur384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Nice date place, relaxing good food, pricy but worth it. Good family gathering good service. Would highly recommend to anyone who visits our city.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The steak there is delicious. I should probably experiment and try a different plate but I always get the goat cheese on my steak and it is to die for.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank curious106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Ottawa Manor also viewed

 

Been to The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Ottawa Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing