We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Works

The Works
Ranked #29 of 2,710 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Westboro Village
Ottawa
2 reviews
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved it! Great food and more than you can imagine for portion size! Skip lunch for this one! I've been a few times and always have a different burger, lots of choice no matter what you prefer!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GGCCOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    328
    139
    42
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What do you want on your burger?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I recently had dinner at the Hunt Club location in Ottawa with friends, my parents as well as my 3 boys. It was our best meal! The menu is a bit intimidating, but after the server explains the choices the hard part is deciding what to order. The variety is amazing, the service is great, and the atmosphere is casual yet upscale for a burger joint. I ordered the "Down Under" burger along with sweet potato fries. Glad I did! Weird combo but it was so tasty and different. I ate the whole thing! Kids enjoyed their burgers too... and they seldom clean off their plates at restaurants...Give it a shot!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OntarioCrazyseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“The Works - The Joke - The Rip-Off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I've had burgers throughout North America - some great and some not-so. A great burger should be juicy - with a fresh, very fresh, bun - fresh ingredients like tomatoes, onions - and fresh, crisp lettuce and dill pickles. Not too much to ask, especially when you're paying $12 or $15 for a burger, and sometimes more.

No so at The Works - the burger was over-cooked, the lettuce was limp, very limp, it looked used. Romaine or Iceberg lettuces are hearty, sturdy, not limp. No so at The Works.

What about onion rings? Usually a fav with burgers - not so at The Works - not so for $9.88 for a single order of onion rings. That's usually called a rip-off.

What's amazing to me is that they brag about being the "World's Best Burger" - which country are they competing with - what a joke to brag about something that doesn't even come close to the word "best".

Suggestions - buy and use fresh ingredients - crisp lettuce, crunchy pickles - reduce your prices on the onion rings - and on the "Plain Jane" burgers - stop ripping people off - you've lost us and our friends as customers - maybe you don't care - well, we don't either - we're off to better places.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the new lunch menu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Taking the awesomeness of the works' burgers and making them more time- and cost-efficient is a big plus!

Service at this location is great and the food is always well-prepared and served in a timely manner - even with the minimum cook time, the burgers are juicy and worth the wait!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Must eat in Ottawa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Discovered the chain on my first visit to Ottawa and make it a must every time I am back. Been to two of The Works locations in Ottawa and always had an amazing meal. There is something for everyone on the menu whether you like hot, vegetables, plain, extra meats, or even Kraft Dinner. There are many options beyond Beef for the patty with turkey, veggie, elk and mushroom available as well.

Service has always been great too, we even had a server sit with us during a slower period and explain all the different types of beers and even recommended a few places in town to check out after the dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Works also viewed

Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to The Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing