We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for people watching.....”

LOCAL Public Eatery
Ranked #223 of 3,238 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 11, 2016

Went for brunch and it was a lovely day so we sat out side and watched what was going on at the Farmers Market. We arrived just as it opened, so we didn't have to wait for a table for service. While the brunch menu is not large, it offered enough to please all in our party. The breakfast sandwich looked very good - but the slice of onion on it was VERY thick and ended up being removed. The poached eggs in the eggs bennie were cooked a bit past the point that had been requested, but were very good none the less. The little glass of fruit smoothie supplied, rather than the more convention orange slice was delicious. The only critical comment is that the serving of potato was much to large. I guess the kitchen just wanted to fill the large plate with something - anything.... I can't imagine eating that much potato with any meal...... I would pay a return visit.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chriswQ4317DT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, General Manager at LOCAL Public Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Hello Chris, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We truly appreciate and take all feedback very seriously. I want you to know that our Chef has read this review and will be impacting his team on brunch and the items that weren't up to standard during your experience. We hope to see you again soon and have a great day.

Manon Paquin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 190 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

If you want a great, juicy burger and a craft beer, go to LOCAL. It's got a prime spot in the newly revamped Lansdowne Park. Especially appealing spot in the Summer. Atmosphere is good.
Everyone who has tried their fish tacos are huge fans (I'm just not a fan of the dish in general).

Warning: it gets busy very quickly after the workday.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank johndM656HN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, General Manager at LOCAL Public Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2016

Hello John, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased that you enjoy Local and our atmosphere. Sorry to hear you're not a big fan of the tacos. We would love to hear your feedback on how you feel we could make them better. If you would like to share, please email us at lansdowne@localpubliceatery.com. Thank you again and have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2016

We had beer and burgers again recently. The burgers were definitely above average for pub food, and both the regular and sweet-potato fries were quite good. The local beer which was the Wednesday special was good and inexpensive. The service was very friendly and efficient.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, General Manager at LOCAL Public Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2016

Hello Robert, thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, We hope to see you again very soon. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2016

The menu is small, so please don't bring picky eaters here.
That being said what they do offer is very good food. The breakfast/Brunch is awesome!

Unfortunately it's always busy and has super long wait times.
Once seated, it was very very slow to receive my drink (which was just a pop) and my food and over 30 minutes for someone to come take my payment.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Youngtraveller3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, General Manager at LOCAL Public Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2016

Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food, but we are very sorry to hear that it took a very long time to receive your drink and food and have your payment processed. We will be following up with our team on this review to ensure we deliver prompt and friendly service for each and everyone of our guests. Thank you so much and we hope to see you very soon again to hopefully turn this review around for you.

Have a great day

Manon Paquin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2016

My daughter requested lunch at Locale's to celebrate her graduation from College. We were a party of 6. Service was quick and pleasant. Our group decided on 3 orders of fish and chips, 2 orders of (2) fish tacos, basket of yam fries and a burger platter. When our orders came the waitress only brought 2 orders of fish and chips, she apparently understood an order of 1 fish and 1 chicken taco instead of fish and chips. She informed us that it be a 10 minute wait for the mix up. The person in our party said its okay I will have the fish/chicken taco, the waitress replied I will discount your bill for the mix up. We then requested more water the waitress brought the water but no glasses. When the bill arrived no discount for the meal mix up was provided. All in all the food was excellent and with tip was $162.00 which averaged $28.00/pp for that price in future do not forget water glasses and more attentiveness to the orders would be good. Don't promise discount if you do not intend to give it. In all fairness it was not busy.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Copper15_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, General Manager at LOCAL Public Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for taking a time to write your review. We are so disappointed to read about your experience with us at Local. The GM has been made aware of this experience and will be following up with her team as this is a big miss on our part we want to make it up to you and your family if we can. If you are interested, the GM would love to hear from you and you can contact her at lansdowne@localpubliceatery.com. Thank you so much

The LOCAL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LOCAL Public Eatery also viewed

 

Been to LOCAL Public Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing