We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, Quick Breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zak's Diner

Zak's Diner
Ranked #87 of 2,710 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: American, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Bonnyville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, Quick Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Good food, fast service, fun environment! We went as a family for breakfast, and it was as good as I remember it several years ago. Simple food done well. No great bells, or whistles, but just a good meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    239
    138
    49
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have had to take my out of town niece here several times. It makes her very happy. Finally, I had to put my foot down, because it is not clean. I love burgers and fries too, but not dirt.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank diver013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Only way to eat there is to be more than tipsy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Went there for breakfast with a colleague. Saw an ant in the container for sugar. Told that to the waitress. She stated that there wasn't much she could do and that we really shouldn't be complaining: it was normal.

We politely thanked her and left.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Serge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“average place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

the location is convenient, reasonable dinner food, a bit greasy, try the milk shakes. Too noisy and too informal for a business meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Genie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome milkshakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The milkshakes are awesome and very big. You can order milkshakes with different shots which was new to me. The hamburgers are not that great but are good enough. The atmosphere was very American dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SergMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zak's Diner also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Zak's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing