We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food ever”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Won Ton House Restaurant
Ranked #491 of 2,746 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food ever”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

G. & J. Have dined at the Wonton House for about 20 years, each return visit has been
outstanding in comparison to their competitors. We like our hosts Thomas and Vicky
whom are very polite, cordial and friendly. Thomas knows the restaurant business and has
told me that the quality of food, ambiance and atmosphere must be perfect to bring
customers back. I can give a testimonial to these principles, I concur with Thomas, this is our
favourite restaurant, for these reasons

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FortJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always great.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Been to the Won Ton many, many times since coming to Ottawa in 1980. It is always great.

The building and décor have been spruced up somewhat in the last couple of years but the one, and most important, aspect that has never changed is the high quality of the food. Always delicious and served with efficiency and friendliness.

Our group of seven started with soup and spring rolls. The hot and sour soup was fantastic - hot and sour and full of flavour. The spring roll appeared hot and crispy, full of fresh vegetables and a couple of plump, tasty shrimp.

Passing on to our mains, we ordered seven - one for each diner - and that was more than plenty with white rice and our appetizers. We had Cantonese Chow Mein, Village Ginger Chicken, Sweet and Sour Pork, Sizzling Steak, Beef with Flat Noodles in Black Bean Sauce, Imperial Shrimps and Buddha's Delight (vegetarian). All were very good, the only disappointment being that the Sweet and Sour Pork was a bit spicier than my wife likes - something I'm sure could have been adjusted if we had spoken up beforehand, which we will do next time.

Always great. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Taste treat at the wonton”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

There were about 14 of us at one round table and the food was rotated on the centre, a great opportunity to eat previously untried dishes.

The food was very good , and the service was extremely polite and efficient.

I will definitely go again

There was also a parking lot for guests which was handy in the particularly busy part of the west end of Ottawa

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place for fine quality Chinese fare”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was my first time at the Won Ton, although it has been a fixture in Ottawa for many years. It definitely won't be my last meal there. I went with friends who have been regulars there for some time and were very familiar with the menu.
There were four of us and five regular sized dishes (yes, they provide each menu item in regular and large sizes). Two of us began with soups - vegetable and won ton. Both looked and tasted delicious. The other two had egg and spring rolls, yet another good choice. Only one of the main dishes was spicy - our older stomachs can no longer tolerated the hot and spicy fare that is the norm for Szechuan food. The vegetables were firm and crisp - not one soggy piece found. Chicken and pork dishes left nothing to be desired. The scallops with vegetables and cashews were my personal favourite despite the fact that the young lady next to me started picking out the cashews. The wine, liquor and beer list is not extensive but more than adequate. Service was excellent. The food arrived promptly and hot. The servers were efficient and friendly. There are tables of many sizes that will accommodate any group. This is a family-owned and operated establishment and it shows. The ambience is very pleasant. The washrooms impeccable. The parking lot was full but street parking was available. However, there is only one downside for some. Although it was not an issue for us, there are a few steps at the entrance and the washrooms require the use of stairs to the basement. Located in a trendy section of West Wellington with a variety of boutiques and other retail establishments to visit. In summary, great quality and good value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank podroznik48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,666 reviews
784 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 988 helpful votes
“Brutal service ... average Chinese food”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our recent dinner at the Won Ton House was a so-so experience. The food was okay with the best dishes being the Moo Shoo Pork and Kung Pao Chicken. The rest - including the spring rolls and Sate Beef - were either overcooked or too salty. The worst aspect was the service. It was appallingly slow and at no time were any apologies or even excuses offered. From the time we ordered it took 85 minutes for our main courses to be served (after a long wait for appetizers). Our dining mates stated that this wasn't the first time they had experienced very slow service. While I'm not that familiar with Chinese restaurants in Ottawa I'm sure one can do much better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Won Ton House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Won Ton House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing