We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for Italian in Canada”
Review of Vittoria Trattoria

Vittoria Trattoria
Ranked #13 of 2,786 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK for Italian in Canada”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

As a Brit visiting Canada on business and wanting to find something other than the hotel restaurant, Vittoria Trattoria was a good find. The menu has a good selection of food, though the dishes are obviously adpated for North American tastes and not like the dishes I have had in restaurants in Italy. But putting aside expectations about Italian food, the service was excellent and the atmosphere OK. I took the escargot for starters and was a bit disappointed as the taste was a bit bland. However, the pasta was cooked to a turn, not too little and not too much.
Service was average, but although they were busy, there was no pressure to leave when I had finished.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shcolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    538
    149
    46
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pei
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Solo Diner”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I had read some reviews that staff were distant and unfriendly, but also heard the food was great. So ventured in as a solo female diner in Ottawa for Business. I was greeted pleasantly, seated promptly and attended to efficiently and with smiles. Great little table by the window. Loved the bread, salad and pizza was to die for! A pleasant dining experience and so glad I went.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank alltanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Make reservations...somewhere else.”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a nice building, but not well kept. The hostess was warm and inviting but it stopped there. Our server had very little time to spend on our table as he was looking for big spenders to buy the overly expensive wine! This restaurant boasts of carrying 800 different wine selections some of them selling between $1,500.00 to $3,000.00 a bottle...they should be concentrating on making a decent $9.00 Bruschetta, they would be further ahead down the road, I've had better at Kelsey's. The washrooms are upstairs off of the upper dining room, tiny and outdated. Needless to say, the food, for an "Italian" experience was not that, but a poorly done roadhouse rendition. If you're looking for an Italian experience, don't look here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandyT2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Seriously yummy traditional Italian, but modern, no check tablecloth and no 'o sole mio'.”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

So I went back twice just to make sure. Lovely bread rolls in balsamic and olive oil is standard. The wine list is OK. Surprised they don't go a bit more upmarket on wine by glass. But the lamb rack on cassoulet of beans (daily special) was utterly delicious. Perfect medium rare, aromatic and luscious. Penne with pancetta and mushroom from standard menu was very yummy. Mushroom soup was great and chocolate pudding was very very good. Service both night was excellent. There is no doubt I will return again every time I am in Ottawa. Business or family. Solo, I got in both nights no problem. If I had a family of four I would book earlier in the day. Do it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schwags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Whenever I go to Ottawa I always make it a point to go to Trattoria Vittoria. The food is incredible, the service is amazing, and everyone is so friendly! The staff go out of their way to meet your standards, and they never get annoyed. Incredible!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canuck992013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vittoria Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Vittoria Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing