We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i dont know” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vittoria Trattoria

Vittoria Trattoria
Ranked #14 of 2,710 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“i dont know”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

the waitress/waiter service was excellent but the food was,to say the least edible.overcooked under seasoned and took 3.5 hours to be served . the wait time and quality of the food was unexceptable and made my dinner night there quite unpleasing . i would not eat here again if it was free

sincererly a gourmet italian chef and food inspector

step it up a bit

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dalton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    474
    135
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Authentic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I shared the Prosciutto wrapped Pear & Brie with my dining partner. I had the Veal Marsala & she had the veal Piccato. For dessert the Tiramasu & Apple Crumble.
The food was very good with good sized portions. Service was great - for a Tuesday evening it was very busy. Definitely worth a visit.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very large plates”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stop by for lunch. I orderred a the trattoria anti pasti plate and a smoked salmon pizza.

The anti pasti plate is large enough for a lunch with 2 people. After I had finish with that plate, the pizza was too much.

There was too much slmon on the pizza, making it taste too strong compared to the redt. THin crust, ok.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philippe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Every single meal I've ordered has been delicious! As well as desserts. I'm no wine expert but they do show quite a few awards on the walls for their selection. And I've enjoyed their wines. I'd say this is a must visit place when visiting Ottawa!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PFelipeLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
251 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Showing its age in not a good way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

If memory serves me correctly the first time I ate here was in about 1998. Given its great location, I have eaten here many times over the years. What was once a innovative and creative menu has become dated. Are many places still serving pear and prosciutto? And the two mussel dishes - grappa and pine nuts and another with curry are tasty enough, but really, no innovation in the kitchen in 15 years. And it is starting to show, the quality and consistency are fading. Over-cooked pasta, undercooked lamb, a wait staff who know that the customers will keep coming regardless of the service they provide. There is a reason that the foodies are not here and the tourists are. My advice, head to the Sidedoor nearby and enjoy an innovative kitchen at about the same price point.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bluesonwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vittoria Trattoria also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Vittoria Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing