We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food great, service slow”

Vietnam Palace Restaurant
Ranked #361 of 2,738 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Viet Nam stretches over a thousand miles from south to north along the south eastern coast of Asia. Its wide climate range and great variety of edibles have made possible the development of a unique array of recipes which have been refined, over the years, into a distinctive classic cuisine. At Vietnam Palace and Palais Du Vietnam you will have a chance to discover it all.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Food great, service slow”
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We went as a group of six mid week. The restaurant was busy, but not full. They seemed to be little understaffed. We waited 20 minutes to get any attention and then another 20 for our drinks to arrive. The food was also slow and one of our dishes was missing (but quickly replaced). We ordered a variety of dishes and appetizers and they were all really very good. The atmosphere was friendly. Not expensive. I'd go back and give it another try on the basis of the food. Maybe they were just understaffed on the night we were there.

Helpful?
2 Thank plightfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    21
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese Food in the heart of Chinatown”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Vietnam Palace is a family favourite and my large extended family has been going there for years now. The owners are very friendly and the staff are attentive and kind. The food is the best I have tasted in a number of Vietnamese restaurants in several Canadian cities. The weekday lunch specials are very popular. For roughly $10 you can choose between a number of main dishes done up with a variety of seasonings. Each main dish comes with a soup and a spring roll. My personal lunch favorites are the Pork with Black Bean (comes with salad and rice) and the Chicken with hot chili peppers and ginger (comes with salad and rice) but there is plenty to choose from. The regular menu is also quite extensive and offers Buhn (delicious!) Mequong soup (lovely curried soup with thick noodles, shrimp, peanut and sprouts) which is quite filling for a "soup". The spring roll appetizers are amazing as is the "Crispy Quail".

Vietnam Palace is the place to go when you're craving Vietnamese in Ottawa!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanTravel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunn, North Carolina
Level Contributor
197 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best springrolls ever!”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I used to live in Ottawa and frequent this restaurant. I moved away about 12 years and don't get back there very often. But when I do... YUMMY! The springrolls are so yummy... when they bring them to the table you also get rice paper, lettuce and a dish of pickled carrot, mint leaves, bean sprouts. Wrap it all together and did it in the Fish Sauce. Another favorite is the Beef wrap and roll. Basically a Vietnamese version of Fajitas... Again very yummy. I recommend going there and sharing dishes with a friend. It makes great conversation!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sensgirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent tasty fresh food with superb hosts and decor”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Best bun in the City, very nice pork grilled perfectly and seasoned with fresh veggies and noodles served with a flavourful sauce. Lunch specials include a bowl of delicious soup, a little spring roll and vermicelli or rice with a salad. With that are chicken, shrimp and pork served in a variety of styles and a vegetarian offering which is good.

The couples that own and run the restaurant are kind and pleasant. The location is easy, with parking in a large lot on Somerset near Booth Street. The summertime construction is finally complete.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyBirtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Try this restaurant; you won't be disappointed.”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My husband and I are weekly patrons at the Vietnam Palace. The lunch specials are delicious and plentiful. The large menu offers many choices, most of them excellent. The restaurant is very clean and well decorated; the owners run the restaurant and are pleasant and efficient. Even though Somerset Street has been a construction zone all summer, the restaurant is very well patronized by the regulars. As I said, try this restaurant; you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinky14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Palace Restaurant also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Vietnam Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing