We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, a bit pricey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Caffe Italia

Trattoria Caffe Italia
Ranked #382 of 2,709 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in Ottawa’s Little Italy, Trattoria Caffe Italia has been a top choice for locals and tourists for more than 25 years. Our impressive wine list, representing more than 7000 bottles from Italy and across the world, has allowed us to be the recipient of the prestigious Wine Spectator Award for several consecutive years. Join us for a casual yet exceptional lunch or dinner in our rustic yet modern dining room, host a corporate or family event in one of our two private dining facilities or dine under the stars on our rooftop terrazzo during the summer months.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good food, a bit pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

The food was good, say above average. The prices were a little high, epsecially given that the service was inattentive.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 2travelingbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trattoriaOttawa, Manager at Trattoria Caffe Italia, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals and time with us. Our pricing is similar to many dining establishments like ours throughout the city. We use premium ingredients, meat and fish thus reflected in the prices of our dishes. I apologize if you felt the service was inattentive. We discuss and emphasize the importance of thorough and courteous service to all of our staff and understand the importance of this plays in creating the optimal atmosphere for our guests.
We hope you return to Ottawa and of course to our establishment !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    60
    21
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Re: To the UGLY TRUTH”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I went there with people from out of town for the first time every, and the food was alright until one of the guests got a hair in there food.

I don't trust this place personally

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trattoriaOttawa, Manager at Trattoria Caffe Italia, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you kindly for your review. I'm very sorry to hear about your experience. Our entire kitchen staff is required to wear a hat/hair net when dealing with any food preparations. We very rarely have problems of the type you are describing and do sincerely apologize. We take every precaution necessary to ensure these things don't happen and I assure you this was an isolated incident. We look forward to serving you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good, reliable, average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Have been coming here for years and finally decided to put finger to keyboard as it were. The good thing about Trattoria Italia is there are no surprises. The bad things about Trattoria is there are no surprises. Mediocrity is their stand-by. Good caesar salad, decent veal piccata but overpriced for what you get. The best part is the waitresses like Sue and Gina who have been there for years and greet you like an old friend. The owners are very friendly but would never buy you a glass of wine or apologize for a bad experience. One waitress has such a bad attitude (K***), we request to not sit in her section! Trattoria is ok but not memorable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank discriminatin2some
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trattoriaOttawa, Manager at Trattoria Caffe Italia, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to email us about your experience. We appreciate the feedback you have provided and have considered all you have said. We work very hard to provide the best possible ingredients in a warm and inviting setting. Our chef uses simple ingredients to provide traditional and slightly rustic fare. We will be making some changes to the menu however and hope you will return to see some new and exciting additions. We do use high quality ingredients in everything we make so of course this will not change. The owners are always happy to treat their clients to a complimentary liqueur or dessert when the opportunity presents itself as they always want to ensure their clients have a memorable and happy experience. We have been in business for more than 25 years and have a large regular client base. We appreciate each and every client that dines with us and truly try our very best to provide the best experience possible. We do hope you will join us once again for lunch or dinner. And when you do, please make it a point to say hi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The food is very god and the slections on the menu are extensive and inviting. The atmosphere is ver comfortable and attractive. The service is prompt, efficient and professional - staff is very knowledgeable The wine selection is excellent - probably the best in Ottawa.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank mary lou j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Weather it be for lunch or dinner the Trattoria doesn't disappoint. It has a small and cozy atmosphere and I've never been disappointed by the service or the meal.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Caffe Italia also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Trattoria Caffe Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing