We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Theo's Greek Taverna, Ottawa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Theo's Greek Taverna - CLOSED

Theo's Greek Taverna
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Ottawa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Theo's Greek Taverna, Ottawa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We've been going to Theo's Taverna for years, although I haven't been in a while. The food is typical Greek but very good. The atmosphere is excellent, small booths all around the back walls, and it is very welcoming.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marichette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa ON Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing Mother's Day Dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Theo's has been, for many years, one of our favourite restaurants in Ottawa however it seems they've undergone a change of ownership.

Gone was our favourite server, gone was the showmanship than usually accompanied saganki and gone was our favourite dish from the menu (they've added pasta dishes and pizza....as if there aren't enough places to buy Italian dishes).

The service was friendly if a bit slow (we were not even asked if we'd like a second round of drinks). The food was not up to the old standard (even the pilaf was bland).

It's sad to think that Ottawa has lost one of its gems......perhaps the new owners will turn things around.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianSharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stittsville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good but not as good as in the past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have been going to Theo's for many years, but it has changed hands fairly recently. I still wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone but honestly it just isn't quite as good as it used to be. It has lost something in many subtle ways I can't put my finger on and I certainly can't put into words - from what it was when Penny and Jerry had this restaurant. This is all a very subtle and subjective lapse in quality and I cannot give or even find any details, but this is just a feeling I have. Everything is still good and OK and I would not turn anyone away from going there but there is just something missing in my annoyingly persistent memory of the past!

I hasten to say this is a still a very good Greek restaurant and I still recommend it and encourage anyone to go there - but I find I go there less often now. Let's say that it is now a 7 instead of an 8 or 9. Still well worth a visit.

How can you praise something but have reservations? I don't know but I still encourage anyone to go there.

Penny Palermo, the former co-owner of Theo's, now seems to have a new restaurant - Pinelopi's Greek Kitchen in Barrhaven. She has been there a couple of years. But I only just found it and I haven't been there yet. I am champing at the bit.

This website insisted on a date but that was all lies. I had to pick one or they wouldn't accept this post at all. They didn't allow me to mention take out either which is what I usually do at this restaurant 90% of the time. And it is VERY GOOD!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony1666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My favourite Greek restaurant in town. It's amazing food, the service is good. The people are very nice. I can really feel the greek atmosphere at that restaurant (the pictures/objects, the music, the people, etc.). It's a shame that the restaurant isn't very busy (well, during the times I went there). It would be a shame if it would close, because it's such a good restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amelie1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We've been going to Theo's for years, and unfortunately the current iteration was extremely disappointing. My husband's green beans were canned, my calamari was cooked to a crisp (maybe fried twice), and the saganaki was awful. We won't be going back.

Helpful?
1 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theo's Greek Taverna also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing