We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed in quality of food under new management”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Theo's Greek Taverna - CLOSED

Theo's Greek Taverna
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointed in quality of food under new management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My family and I have been going to this restaurant for 4 years. Being Greek myself, this was the closest I could get to Greek authentic food. We would always order the same dishes, the Pikilia for Two (choice of 4 appetizers), a Greek salad,a tzatziki, a bottle of malamatina ($18.00). Our latest visit was last Friday and it will be our last. We realize that the restaurant was sold and under new management over the summer, but we were hoping the chef and quality of food would remain. Unfortunately, not only did the owners change, but the prices went up, the quality of food has gone down and the staff at the restaurant did not know their own menu. The above mentioned meal was 80.00! Unbelievable.

The choice of good Greek restaurants are few in this city, so we will now make the extrra 30 minute drive to Pilos Restaurant in the east end.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Going down hill fast”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Under New Management and it's going the wrong direction. Staff was inexperienced and food was very average at best. Pick up some chicken at the KFC on the corner. Money better spent there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank darcyco16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Went here with my family. The service was ok but their was one waitress Cima that was horrible. She was rude and wasn't very talkative. The food was total crap. I remember going here a few months ago and the food was really great. i decided to come back with my family and it was a horrible experience. We ordered the chicken souvlaki, the spanakopita with salad, and moussaka. The chicken was so dry and tasteless. the potatoes were dry and cold. the rice tasted terrible. It had cumin in it and i hate cumin! the spanakopita tasted like it was frozen and just reheated. at least the salad would be ok. right? wrong. It tasted horrible. the salad used to have homemade dressing, but now it's a disgusting thick dressing that doesn't taste good at all. Moussaka was a family favorite of ours, but the sauce was too thick and hard and the meatsauce was not flavorfull at all and the potatoe inside was hard. We had a side order of homemade french fries that tasted good. but the menu said it was homemade and you can clearly tell it was frozen french fries. we were really dissapointed, but we thought we had the delicious garlic bread to still eat. turns out, they replaced the homemade garlic bread with plain old buns. we thought that the new management would be even better than before but we were wrong. we even found out that our favourite chef Mo left as well. no wonder that place was total crap. i suggest you don't go there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bentley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Under new management and NOT THE SAME”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have been a long time customer of Theo's and it was one of my favorate restaurants. BUT it is now under new management and not the same at all. The potatoes have been replaced with packaged frozen fries, soggy and aweful. THe salad dressing is no longer home made and the lamb just doesn't taste the same. It is very disappointing to lose such a great place, I will not be back. The service does continue to be excellent but it just doesn't make up for the very mediocre food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank San T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa ON Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful.....as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We've been going to Theo's a few times a year for a number of years now.

The menu offers a good variety of dishes and the service is outstanding. If you've never had saganaki (an appetizer) it alone is worth the trip to the west end (both gastronomically and from an entertainment standpoint)

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianSharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theo's Greek Taverna also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing