We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Cross Restaurant - CLOSED

Southern Cross Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Ontario
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Comparative price, delicious food, friendly and helpful staff. Arriving at 7pm, we chose to eat here and we are so glad we did! The food was mouth watering for all three of us. To go somewhere eles, prices are the same, service might similar, but the quickness was amazing! Hungry teens + fast service + delicious meals = happy happy travellers

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellinGals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    28
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Damned with faint praise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

There's nothing terrible about this restaurant, but neither is there anything special (other than the location). The wait time for ordering and food delivery is usually pretty long.

The food is fine, but I woudn't go out of my way to eat there if it weren't a convenient meeting place when I'm in town on business.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MSH1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Burnt Toast and Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I would make the effort to go somewhere else next time. The waitress was friendly enough and to be fair I should have sent my food back. However, I was quite disappointed to have burnt toast with a big slab of butter on it set down in front of me first thing in the morning.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AWorldAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Arrived shortly before noon with group of eight. Placed orders promptly. Did not receive orders until 12:45. Don't know if due to slow staff or kitchen. I would eat there again if time wasn't a factor.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank markonefive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbeil, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location for a breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Good quality food and a varied menu for breakfast. Our second visit was a little slower service but in general the food and service was very good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Cross Restaurant also viewed

Stittsville, Ottawa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing