We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome steak hose in the trendy By Market area”

The Keg Steakhouse & Bar
Ranked #16 of 2,744 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Canadian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Brussels
Level Contributor
213 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Awesome steak hose in the trendy By Market area”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The quality of the meat is high, and staff is very friendly,
Many wines from different countries are offered by the glass.

Highly recommended when you like steak in a trendy and in an informal way.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    162
    45
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kemptville, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good and very tasty”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

After a few hours of walking around Ottawa's ByWard Market for a few hours on a hot day, we passed by the Keg. They didn't open until 4, but glad we waited. As soon as 4:00 rolled around, the lineup formed so people must know this place is good. We were seated on the covered patio as requested. Chelsea was our server and she was very pleasant and knowledgeable about the menu. After she took our order she even proactively told us that because we were sitting in the shade, the steak may look darker cooked than the medium we asked for, but rest assured, it would be cooked to your satisfaction. We both ordered 8oz sirloins, hers the classic menu and I combo'd mine with a skewer of jumbo shrimp. Chelsea was able to answer my wife's question about the difference between the baked and the double baked potato (either one, they are both excellent). We ordered cold beverages and saw on the table next to us that their drink menu has a $25 pitcher of Sangria...next time we'll order that!!! All in all, a very good place to eat. The steaks were very tasty and cooked to perfection. The servers and wait staff are all very elegantly dressed as well. You won't be disappointed. our steak dinners and two drinks each cost $93 with tax. Chelsea was a fine server and got a generous tip, she did a great job.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PottsyMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
681 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,763 helpful votes
“excellent food great service”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

A fabulous meal with an extensive menu but still went for the special of the day, 7oz steak, crad, scallop and shrimp - beautiful and all our table had steaks cooked to perfection and served in less than 20 mins. Service faultless and good value averaging $50 pp including 2oz cocktails.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great steaks , fantastic value”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Wife and I and another couple visited here by chance .
We all had steaks of one kind or another , all were cooked perfectly . Our waiter was the perfect host guided us through the menu and provided that little extra when it came to service .
Had a great night , for a chain it was well beyond our expectations and great value .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BInck113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Above and beyond”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

best food,best service.
The hostess Linnaea B did a great job welcoming guests, she is so friendly and professional.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg Steakhouse & Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Keg Steakhouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing