We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Black Tomato

Black Tomato
Ranked #93 of 2,746 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I visited the Black Tomato for dinner after hearing a lot of hype about it from many people. I was disappointed as soon as I walked in. The space is very dated and crowded. Very strong odour coming from the kitchen (grease). Bathrooms were disgusting.

Prices were okay. I wasn't impressed with the chicken dish that I had. Lacked flavour and presentation. Service was not that great.

Will not be returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    169
    75
    24
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This gastropub boasts great atmosphere, with exposed stone walls, a good selection of local microbrews (Beau's and Kitchissippi, among others), and great food.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My brother and I shared a mussel dish for starters. Fantastic. My lamb in a maple sauce was wonderful. The setting is fantastic. Old rustic/historic feel. Clean and wonderful service. Our meals for two with wine and appetizer was $100.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BW T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and food”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Nice casual but hip place with beautiful exposed stone walls and modern art. They said they dont own a deep frier and i consider it a plus. 6 of us had lunch on holiday Monday and all from the red pepper soup to the spicy chicken salad and grilled cheese sandwiches for kids were really good. The waitress was great and super efficient with refilling our water glasses. I highly recommend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canadiana2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalhousie, NB
Level Contributor
210 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch, nice menu, I love daily specials!! I always pick them... Weird setup when you walk in, have to walk thru the side kitchen... Good for for the market and reasonably priced...

Helpful?
Thank cajunsnowdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Tomato also viewed

 

Been to Black Tomato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing