We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome food, excellent service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shafali Restaurant

Shafali Restaurant
Ranked #139 of 2,710 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $0 - $17
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome food, excellent service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Once again, I ordered Indian food from the Shafali restaurant downtown. It was excellent. Portions were more than adequate and the food was both tasting and looking formidable! Good job! I recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    37
    14
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal durning a busy Canada Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had originally intended to stop in the Shafali location in the main building of the byward market. They were closed so we wandered around and discovered there was another location on Dalhousie Street. It was air conditioned, the atmosphere was lovely and we were glad for the change from the craziness on the street for Canada Day. Our meal was really good, wine selection good, the service was wonderful. Thank you Shahed and Azim for taking such good care of us. We had such a good meal that when we were trying to decide where to eat the next night my son said why would we go anywhere else! Smart kid!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MamaIv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome curry flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We went this restaurant on 2 july , the food was really excellent we had chicken jhalfraji and rogan josh was outstanding taste , we just loved it . I am highly recomend of this restaurant

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric0076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
131 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Shafali must be one of the longest-lasting restaurants in the Byward Market. We first went there in about '97 when we really liked it and, having lived overseas for much of the time since then, we decided to return and see if it was as good as we remembered. An appetizer plate contained several faves: seekh kabob and chicken tikka were both tender and tasty, samosas were good and fresh with a light case. Two of us had butter chicken which was creamy but not too sweet, one had a seekh kabob plate which came with rice and a veg curry, and I had an excellent rogan josh with good flavours and some of the most tender lamb I've enjoyed in a curry. Overall, the food quality was a noticeable step up from the standard Indian food we regularly enjoy in similar restaurants in England. It was as good as we remembered from all those years ago!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ToesGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

wonder full food and great night out,,,recently create more ambiance, place look very nice.
I do strongly recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank buddah01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shafali Restaurant also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Shafali Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing