We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality of Fish Unsurpassed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pelican Grill

Pelican Grill
Ranked #37 of 2,726 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $36
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A casual seafood bistro with a fresh fish market attached. We are only interested in serving the freshest fish and seafood we can get!
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
177 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Quality of Fish Unsurpassed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Not only did I eat here, but I also bought fish to take home as well. This is one of the few inland places where the quality of fish is unsurpassed. The menu lunch menu is relatively limited, but that's okay because everything is rated a "buy" on it.

The counter staff behind the fish market are intensely knowledgeable about the product. The guy with the red hair is superb. The wait staff in the restaurant could use a little more training in being amenable and serving from the correct side of the diner. However, it is all excused because of the quality of the fish.

Prices are a little high, but I don't mind paying for quality. When in this neck of the woods, both the market and the eatery are worth patronizing.

So all in all, in spite of the

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank TechLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim F, Owner at Pelican Grill, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thanks for your kind words. The guy with the red hair is Chuck. He is a star fishmonger. We are really thrilled that you mentioned the high quality of our fish because we are fishmongers at heart. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    150
    33
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food in an unlikely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

They make really good food here, but the strip mall type setting is a little off-putting. It certainly wouldn't prevent me from going back though, as the staff know what they're doing and treat you well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jcroft8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim F, Owner at Pelican Grill, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
I guess you can't judge a book by its cover. We have been renovating at night for over two months and we are thrilled to be done. In January the outside renos begin and hopefully we will be done by March. Thanks for for your review. We love being the underdog. Cheers, Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Last night my wife and I had supper at the Pelican Grill. Nice atmosphere but this is not the best restaurant to have a romantic dinner. Very crowded and loud but the service, food and food presentation is right up there with many more expensive restaurants. Overall very nice evening. We will return. Try it out you won't be dissapointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank consumeraware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great meal but one disappointment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have loved this place for years and shop and dine here regularly. We had the lobster supper and arctic char tonight. To our delight we found Grove Mill wine on the list and ordered a bottle. However when we asked to take the leftover wine home, the waiter advised that their license didn't permit this. We were astonished as we have taken leftover wine home from many fine dining restaurants since the law changed to permit it. Left a bad taste in my mouth. I'll try and contact the owner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RosnDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim F, Owner at Pelican Grill, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and for bringing up a very good topic.
You are correct the law does allow restaurants that choose to, to allow patrons to take home unfinished wine. The program is called Take Home The Rest.
The THTR program was developed to prevent patrons from feeling that they must finish a bottle that they have started. We agree that patrons should feel no pressure to consume and for that reason we have chosen to take another path. We sell every wine on our list by the glass, 1/2 litre and bottle. This allows our guests to order only the amount that they would like.
We feel that the THTR program is well intentioned but that it puts extra responsibility on restaurants and service staff and for that reason we have decided not to participate.
Thank-you for your patronage. Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Plain, simple decor with copper table tops unadorned with table cloth. Service punctual and attentive but a bit diffident. Short menu limited mostly to classic fish dishes, but are they good!! Place also has a fish market that's open during the day, so you can believe their fish is fresh. I had a lobster that tasted better than one I had had last summer on Prince Edward Island! $120 for two including 3 glasses of wine. Restrooms are super, super clean. Only reason I don't give them five stars is that they started sweeping up and placing chairs upside down on other tables before we had finished our meal (and we were not late).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pelican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing