We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a try”

Mystiko Greek Kitchen & Wine Bar
Ranked #104 of 2,746 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was a spontaneous visit after driving around Ottawa looking for somewhere nice for a special gathering. I was first attracted by the ample off-street parking, however, it looked so dark from the outside that we thought it was closed. It's a little dark inside too, but has an overall good atmosphere with an "authentic" feel. You can expect a likeable staff, lots of choice and large servings. Most of the group enjoyed their choices. A fussier member felt that although it's not over-priced, it's expensive enough to expect a little more of a "wow" factor, especially from the standard offerings (rice, potatoes, souvlaki). Perhaps we should have asked for recommendations like we did for the wine which was right on. Overall, we were not dissapointed with choosing Mystico.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freedom_53Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    47
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An excellent greek restaurant”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I recently ate at this restaurant with my family. The food was excellent especilally the lamb souvlakis and the baclavas for dessert. The service was friendly but a little slow on a busy friday night

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank martineco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good meal if you know what to expect”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

They did a great job with the renovations. The place is cozy and the floor plan was good.

At first, I thought the prices were exceptionally good, but the type of food you can expect here can be similar to a Greek order-and-go food place, with a few exceptions. Overall though, with the low prices and cozy atmosphere, this is a great place to grab a meal as long as you are not expecting 5-star Greek food.

Service at the time we went was good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank getawayOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Nice meals and appetizers”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Often in Ottawa for travelling, we do go to Mystico. The staff is friendly, and efficient. The meals are nice. We have tried several things on the menu and are pleased with what we have sampled. I would recommend this restaurant- pleasant atmosphere, serving nice Greek foods. Probably the only item I would change is that they serve only Greek wine (although I can see they are trying to be Greek). Really enjoy this restaurant. Note: Check hours on weekends- it seems they only open for dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J_travelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Greek food at its finest!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is probably the fourth time I've been to this restaurant. I love the entire experience, every time. It is a small restaurant run by a family who can be seen there every day. The service is exceptional, the food is authentic - in fact, it is better than the same dishes I've had in Greece. It has a warm ambiance as well. The owners always remember me which lends itself to the friendly atmosphere. I last went on a Saturday night. We had a party of 4 and the restaurant was full - as it always is - and we all agreed that everything ordered that night, including dessert, was exceptional. I say this is one of the hidden gems in the city!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank thesaucyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mystiko Greek Kitchen & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mystiko Greek Kitchen & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing