We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a good experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Ogilvie

Mandarin Ogilvie
Ranked #383 of 2,710 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great place for Dimsum on the weekends. Try their Egg Cake , it is really good, order in advance as you arrive it takes a few minutes. The Hunan Dumplings are really good along with the Chicken Corn Soup. Overall really good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Senator76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    59
    20
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Taste Experience You Will Not Regret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have been a few times to Mandarin in recent months. From the outside, it may not look like much but the food is the best in town. Chinese food with no MSG. I highly recommend the sweet and sour pork and the crispy duck if that's your thing. Take a look at their hall of fame as well.

Price is also quite decent and definitely worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wdbickford81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tasty food with varieties.. but can use more friendly service though.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

In terms of the food, I found the Mandarin Ogilvie to be one of the best Chinese restaurants in Ottawa... actually better than most of those located in Chinatown. The service is just ok though as the young waitresses working there do not seem to know how to be friendly or attentive to the customers. They always just seem to be rushing about, getting the orders and putting the dishes on the table, then rush away without any smile or friendly remarks. But the menu offers a variety of food, including Cantonese, Mandarin, Thai, Vietnamese etc...and they are often very well done, especially the Thai dishes with those yummy Coriander and basel.. The restaurant is huge and so it's always easy to get a table without too long a wait... Parking is usually no problem with a big parking lot at the back of the restaurant. Decor-wise, it looks and feels like any other typical Chinese restaurants, but since it's spacious, so it feels "comfy" in there. It's a bit more expensive than the local Chinese restaurants...But I think the food is worth it ... I would certainly go back.. Recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diego16888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious! Best Chinese food in town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We first went to the Mandarin Ogilvie more than ten years ago. We were recently moved Vancouverites craving a Chinese food fix and the Mandarin Ogilvie didn't disappoint! Since then, it remains our go to Chinese food place particularly for Dim Sum. Our only quibble would be that, on some occasions, the fried offerings have leaned towards being a tad greasy. However, we would recommend this restaurant for anyone wanting a Chinese food fix in Ottawa!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank guzadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Chelsea, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I found this to have very bad service, very tacky bland paper over the table cloth (lazy), to reduce cleanup time. I'm surprised they didn't supply crayons too.We had all our orders brought out at separate times by all different people. It took over an hour to get all our food out to us. Dishes were tasty but expensive. I would not go back nor recommend this place to anyone. If you are oriental, I think it helps with the quality of service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarin Ogilvie also viewed

 

Been to Mandarin Ogilvie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing