We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lone Star Texas Grill

Lone Star Texas Grill
Ranked #177 of 2,710 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Barbecue, Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our famous fajitas are served up fresh - from the warm flour tortillas to the guacamole and the salsa. Wood fire grilled AAA steaks and smokehouse ribs are all prepared in the barbecue pit. Lone Star guarantees great food, warm southern hospitality, and a good time. We are Canada's only authentic Texas restaurant - the real deal...TEXAS to the BONE!
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Food is of great quality but bag of nacho chips was 16$. Staff is always friendly and helpful. There are a few locations in the Ottawa area to serve you and your looking for some great fajitas this is the place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gauthier613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    59
    24
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not up to par”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Went to Lone Star with the team for lunch and a brewski. The beer was good but the food was over-priced and the flavour was underwhelming. I had the chicken wings and ribs combo. It's not that it was bad, it was just... meh.

The chips and salsa at the beginning was pretty good and it was free. No complaint there.

I keep wanting to rate this poor but I guess I'll take it up to average. Realistically, it was a 2 1/2.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lone Star Texas Grill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Personally, Lone Star Texas Grill is my favourite restuarent. If you've never been...take the first opportunity to GO! The food is amazing, the servers are quick, friendly and more often then not good looking. Chicken, beef or steak fajitas are their main attraction at Lone Star - and for good reason. Once you've tried Lone Star's fajitas every other fajita meal you try will fail to compare, honestly. Not only are the fajitas delicious but the steak, beef and chicken are always done to perfection. Their other meal courses are just as great - trust me. But if you're planning on going to Lone Star and you've yet to try the fajita deal...don't pass up the opportunity for a mouth watering experience!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alexa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“THE best fajitas, period!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

If your looking for THE best fajitas, you've come to the right place!!! You won't find another place that serves them better!! We either dine-in or do take-out. Either way, your getting the best!! Food is always fresh and takes amazing!!! When we dine-in, at times, the wait is up to 15 minutes, but don't mind because we can hang out at the bar. The atmosphere is great! Your welcome to order other items such as burgers etc., but we always get the fajitas. Our service is always on time and the staff are more than accommodating. We always have a great time and come back for more!! Would recommend the Lone Star any day!!! Enjoy!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikmar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“too salty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We don't eat a lot of red meat, there really wasn't much on the menu to please our palates, we do not like a lot of salt in our food nor do we like it added, we prefer a healthier diet with less salt and fat.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Veronica049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lone Star Texas Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing