We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food! ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Door

The Green Door
Ranked #20 of 2,710 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Well established (1988) and highly acclaimed, recently renovated (2014), vegetarian, pay-by-weight. Featuring organic and local ingredients. Our meals are a nutritional, visual, and tasty good value.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Girlfriends and I decided to try this restaurant for lunch on a Friday. The food is fantastic! Many different flavours that are sure to satisfy! The great thing about a buffet is that you can try everything that you want, but the downside is that you pay by the weight of your plate, so don't overdo it if you are on a strict budget. Quality is very good and the prices are great considering how fresh and homemade the foods are (no canned soups here!). Will return!

Helpful?
Thank beeker_xox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    115
    25
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
“Gluten Free Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was so happy to have so many choices for lunch, including dessert. The informal, casual atmosphere was awesome. Staff were friendly. Easy access in terms of parking. I will go again for sure!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nehiyawiskwew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Vegetarian and celiac delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This restaurant produces food for folks who either by choice or necessity have to avoid glutein etc. It is congested but service is prompt and the menu is inspiring! I found the salads and the vegetarian lasagna outstanding. Also the beers were unique.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveCanadaKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
285 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Return visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The food is quite good but it is presented in a very congested area which leads to a very slow process virtually guaranteeing that your hit food will be cold by the time you find a scarce table.

Everything is a bit dated and aged, from the serving area to the tables and chairs; in my opinion it's definitely time for a freshening.

The desserts are tasty but are located in the same congested area.

Let's update, paint and freshen this place because the competition in Ottawa is very very good and threatens what once was the best of its type.

Helpful?
1 Thank Veganguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Make your friends green with envy :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Green Door is often fit to bursting with patrons competing for their delicious vegetarian fare. It can be difficult to get a seat if you go around standard meal times, but that's just a testament to how good it is.

I've gone with several generations of the family at once and there are dishes to meet everyone's individual tastes, even the pickiest of eaters (although of course there aren't any meat dishes). The buffet that is laid out for you and replaced as fast as it disappears is impressive and tantalizing. My personal favourite is the lasagna, but be quick! It goes fast.

Foods are marked clearly and carefully with allergen/eating information, so this is a great place for those that are vegan, celiac, etc.

Complaints are few and far between - it can be hard to find a seat, and food is priced according to weight (but perhaps I'm just a piggy?). Its praises are far more important: the food is delicious, and the variety is wonderful for all. The desserts are particularly noteworthy! I love the chocolate mousse.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rikkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Door also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to The Green Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing