We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Flying Piggy's

Flying Piggy's
Ranked #131 of 2,726 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We went to Flying Piggys last night for a family get together. There were six of us in our party. After getting our drink orders, our server informed us of the evenings specials. Four of us chose the veal chop, one flat iron steak and one chicken marsala. Meal was good but then our bills came. How any restaurant can charge $38 for a veal chop and $27 for a flat iron steak is beyond my comprehension. A glass of merlot was $10. Our bill for two with a bottle of wine was almost $200 with tip. When we complained about the high prices the server did not bat an eye when telling us that "the market area would have been a lot more". It is obviously a complaint she has heard before. When telling people of the specials they should also inform them of the prices. We were sitting in a section where the specials where not listed. My husband and I have been in better class restaurants in Beijing, Paris, London, etc. and are quite upset by the exorbitant prices they are charging for average food. We used to live in the Hunt Club area and frequent this restaurant. We will not be going back because of the prices and the staff who do not really care that their prices are way too high for an evening out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 515Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    50
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“"Quaint place"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

The food is good but next time I would order off the menu rather than one of the specials. I had a bowtie pasta with spinach and white beets but it was bland. My friend ordered a steak and a pea risotto which looked very good. For dessert the lemon tart was just so-so, next time I would try the pecan pie. The service was very good, friendly and quick. We went on a weeknight without reservations and had no problem getting a table, but I would recommend calling ahead of time since its a small restaurant. This place is a nice change from the chain restaurants everywhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beach4ever4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Went for lunch with group of friends from work. Had a great meal, nice selection of lunch specials to choose from. The pasta I had was quite delicious, everyone else enjoyed their meal as well. Desserts were excellent!

Our server was pleasant, knowledgable and attentive without hovering. Definitely plan to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Laura-Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Our go-to restaurant in Ottawa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have never been disappointed by Flying Piggies. Excellent food, generous portions (but not too large), terrific ambiance (lots of happy, well-fed folks). Service is hospitable and generally as attentive as you want but they are sometimes stretched a bit thin.

The variously flavoured creme brûlées (different flavour each evening) are always superb and a real highlight of my evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cozy evening out and an enjoyable dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

A cozy restaurant and amiable staff. The parking lot is extremely limited and more parking is not very readily available in the area. We enjoyed our meals and the wine selection wasn't bad (also plenty of availability of wine by the glass).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rieslingca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Piggy's also viewed

 

Been to Flying Piggy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing