We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Good Lunches”

Edoko Japanese Steakhouse
Ranked #312 of 2,738 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always Good Lunches”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I entertain my clients here, and the food and atmosphere is always pleasant.
The Saki-Caesar drink is really amazing.
We've been there as a family as well and dinners are well prepared as well.
It is not the most amazing place, but it is predictably always good. It is dependable, and you know you won't have a bad experience.

The only complaint I would have is that for japanese Restaurant the Tea selection is really poor.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OttawaMinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Well located teppenyaki restaurant”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The restaurant is situated just a couple of blocks away from Parliament Hill. We decided to make a reservation as we were going on a Friday evening. It was surprising when we arrived that we were the only customers in the restaurant. The teppenyaki meal was good and well priced but not memorable.
The staff were very attentive and the chef was good entertainment.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sellers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

With so many Japanese restaurants in Ottawa, a restaurant need to stand above the crowd in order to get noticed. I found the location great, the service spotty and the food average. Okay for a quick meal but nothing special.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob8300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“i wish i had tried the food, waited 15 min and nothing”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I had heard that the food here was good, and had a hankering for teppenyaki so I made the trek to edoko.

I sat down with a friend. there was one person seated upstairs, a couple at one of the other cooking tables, and one full table with a crowd starting to disperse. we were seated far from the kitchen, well out of sight. The woman who greeted us disappeared, and we waited about 15 min. my colleague and I were chatting, but when 7:15 rolled around (we met outside just before 7) we decided we had waited long enough. no water, no drink, didn't even see a server.....

went to 18 over in the market and had a great dinner. I wouldn't recommend for the service alone. I can't believe they value customers so little.

TC

  • Visited September 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank torontocpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great location and good selection”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This restaurant is located a few minutes from Parliament Hill and during the day is frequented largely by the local office clientele. The restaurant is split into different levels and seating is below ground level so there is no view. The sushi/sashimi section will often be full, especially late in the week. Reservations are a good idea but the teppanyaki side can often hold the excess. I usually dine on the sushi/sashimi but the teriyaki, tempura and bento boxes are favourites of some of my colleagues who prefer non-seafood options.

They have a decent selection of sashimi and a varied a la carte menu with some wonderful specialty rolls. The lunch sushi/sashimi plate is a good way to sample a variety of flavours and comes with soup or salad. The dessert menu contains some unique options and is a great way to end of a meal.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bulroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edoko Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Edoko Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing