We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
Review of Domus Cafe - CLOSED

Domus Cafe
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

It was my pleasure to be back at Dolmus to enjoy a beautiful meal. The soup today was a carrot ginger that was smooth and creamy with just enough bite to be interesting. For my main, the scallops - oh, what a treat. And for dessert, the lemon tart...Devine. Great service and ambiance put this restaurant tops in my book.

Helpful?
Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    32
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A sure thing in Ottawa”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had been referred by a friend. He was right, this place does it great. Had a special of Lamb confit. It was awesome. Menu is imaginative, the location is excellent and it's easy to see why you need a reservation. These are given in 15 minute intervals. That way, the service is prompt and effective. Good wine list and nice atmosphere. Friendly chefs in the open kitchen add a nice touch. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vacances04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Went to Domus Cafe with a group of 12 and all of us enjoyed our meals. The menu is small and I think that we had all of the main courses. All were excellent. For appetizers the soup and tomato salad were particularly outstanding. A little bit pricey but high quality food

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slabotsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best in Ottawa”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Consistently good; great food, a nice wine list and excellent service. We had not been there in some time and were pleased to find out that it hasn`t changed.
The décor needs a little update but it`s OK as it is.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank montcler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Why don't we eat here every Friday night?”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

After a fabulous meal, that was the question we asked ourselves. My husband started with the market soup - pureed egplant and tomato with a spicy cumin edge. I had the best tomato salad ever - beautiful red, room temperature beauties served with tons of fresh basil and a delightfully salty olive tapenade - oh and some crumbled goat cheese for garnish.We went on to have a perfectly medium rare steak/frites for my husband and an oh. my. god. good saddle of rabbit stuffed with mushrooms and wrapped in prosciutto for me. Unfortunately no room left for dessert. Service was outstanding,atmosphere wonderfully romantic for a rainy night. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dominique7339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domus Cafe also viewed

Stittsville, Ottawa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing