We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a pub, and a good one!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of D'arcy McGee's Irish Pub

D'arcy McGee's Irish Pub
Ranked #69 of 2,713 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Description: Get the proper pub experience. We balance Irish-inspired dishes and North American classics. We’ve perfected the pub staple, Fish & Chips, and make our pies and pastry in-Pub. Try our fresh burgers like the legendary Guinness® Burger, with your pint of Guinness® of course!
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's a pub, and a good one!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We're not reviewing fine dining but a pub. With this in mind, their food is tasty and beer served quickly. No complaints on either - good pub food and plenty of domestic and international beer selections.

For added enjoyment, get a table outside and watch the throngs of people pass by Sparks Street throughout your meal.

Service from multiple staff was very good and none of my party had any complaints what so ever.

Easily worth a 2nd trip!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BestWorldReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    206
    90
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glace Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“great irish pub in ottawa!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stopped in D'arcy's for cold drinks after an afternoon touring around the Parliament Building. The pub is conveniently located on the corner of Sparks and Rue Elgin. I like the pub atmosphere the place offers. It was very busy there on Saturday afternoon but we had no problem getting a table and service. The pub offers a good variety of beers on tap as well as bottled. We ordered wings for an appetizer and they were quite good. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinjspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalhousie, NB
Level Contributor
200 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“ok for lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

went there for lunch with 5 collegues, the best thing was the service, food was hit and miss.... but we did our food very quickly which is great while on a lunch break!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cajunsnowdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
1,218 reviews
800 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,679 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stopped in a D'arcy McGees after visiting a session of Parliament. We were greeted warmly by the bartender and each had a beer at the bar - a Keith's and a Steam Whistle. This pub had an excellent selection of beer, accompanied by friendly service. This pub had a nice menu, but we decided not to eat there because of the time of the day. The place was clean as was its restroom. We would certainly return to this special watering hole the next time we are in Ottawa.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJTravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have been at this place every time in the city of Ottawa. they still offer the best quality food, drinks and entertainment. the staff is great, and the manager is quick with a reply to please if anything does not please you. You will not be disappointed CHEERS!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Epicure30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'arcy McGee's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to D'arcy McGee's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing