We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My boycott resumes”
Review of Boston Pizza

Boston Pizza
Ranked #760 of 2,785 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Ottawa, ON
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“My boycott resumes”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I hadn't been to Boston Pizza probably in a decade since this location first opened... Back then my meal was gross. I had a salad with chicken on it, and the chicken had tofu texture (mushy cubes)... So here we go again during lunch. My coworker friend suggested this place and we all went because it was his birthday.

It was bad AGAIN. The guys had a pizza. It was around $30 and seemed to have barely any cheese or tomato sauce on it, and it was lukewarm at best.

I got a soup and a salad. Guess how much! $25! Instead of croutons, the French onion soup had hunks of pizza crust in it. The salad didn't have much variety in it, and it was soaked in an oily dressing. I gave up on it.

So the food was not good and the price was too high. We won't return for another decade. I have a feeling that everything here comes in frozen and is microwaved by the students in the kitchen.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa, canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Gluten free pizza”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I had the gluten free pizza at Boston Pizza, Barrhaven/Ottawa, Ontario this week. It was absolutely great! You couldn't tell the difference between that and the normal crust.
Highly recommend it!

Chris

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christineleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service good but”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Visited the Boston Pizza in Kanata tonight, August 20, 2012.

Food was great.

Service was good except when the bill came.

We paid our bill and then found that we were overcharged.

Once we reported it, we were told by the manager that refunding us the difference was a major problem. As he said, unfortunately I am not allowed to make corrections to a credit card payment.

He then asked me to pay the correct amount of $$41.08 and that he will ensure a refund be issued tomorrow for the first incorrrect amount of $45.58.

I would normally not do this, but dealing with a major business as Boston Pizza, contrary to my wife's objection, I did as asked.

As a retailer for 51 years and dealing with customers who pay by credit card, I find it unacceptable that an operation such as Boston Pizza can allow a manager to take payments but not refund payments made in error.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
638 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“It's slipped a lot in food quality”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I was a big Boston Pizza fan but over the last few years their food quality has really gone downhill. I was nicely greeted at the door and the service was very attentive. My drink orders came quickly. The bar area is great for watching sports. My complaint is that the penne I ordered (which a few years ago was terrific) is now really greasy and obviously comes from a central cooking facility as it had a boil-in-the-bag taste to it. A big disappointment.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Weerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“winitmanu”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

went with my nieces brother and mother............service sorry not
so good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank winitmanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Boston Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing