We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service good but”
Review of Boston Pizza

Boston Pizza
Ranked #729 of 2,737 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service good but”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Visited the Boston Pizza in Kanata tonight, August 20, 2012.

Food was great.

Service was good except when the bill came.

We paid our bill and then found that we were overcharged.

Once we reported it, we were told by the manager that refunding us the difference was a major problem. As he said, unfortunately I am not allowed to make corrections to a credit card payment.

He then asked me to pay the correct amount of $$41.08 and that he will ensure a refund be issued tomorrow for the first incorrrect amount of $45.58.

I would normally not do this, but dealing with a major business as Boston Pizza, contrary to my wife's objection, I did as asked.

As a retailer for 51 years and dealing with customers who pay by credit card, I find it unacceptable that an operation such as Boston Pizza can allow a manager to take payments but not refund payments made in error.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
609 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“It's slipped a lot in food quality”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I was a big Boston Pizza fan but over the last few years their food quality has really gone downhill. I was nicely greeted at the door and the service was very attentive. My drink orders came quickly. The bar area is great for watching sports. My complaint is that the penne I ordered (which a few years ago was terrific) is now really greasy and obviously comes from a central cooking facility as it had a boil-in-the-bag taste to it. A big disappointment.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Weerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“winitmanu”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

went with my nieces brother and mother............service sorry not
so good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank winitmanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gananoque, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We chose Boston Pizza because my wife has Ciliac Disease and they offer a gluten free pizza crust.
The service was good, but both pizzas we got were slightly under cooked. The crust was a bit doughy. Not bad enough to send back, just not perfect.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank garrahsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Trenendous menu with good service. You can't go wrong with this fine restaurant. Amazing pizza and great Thai chicken bites.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackcookOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Boston Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing