We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy spot!”

Beckta Dining & Wine
Ranked #9 of 2,785 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Cozy spot!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great place to go with that special someone! Food is equisite and tasty. Small restaurant, so you need to make a reservation in advance.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank goldylockx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    822
    231
    112
    35
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great food, but rather pricy.”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We visited here for the first time in October. I had long heard about the restaurant, and been fortunate enough to visit one of its other restaurants, Play, several times previously. As it turned out, the food was very tasty and the service excellent. I ordered the Beet Salad as an appetizer, and the Lake Eerie Walleye. Both were great choices. The atmosphere was also very nice and parking was not a problem. In comparison with other restaurants of a similar nature, I think Beckta might be more pricy, and probably $25-35 more for the total bill we paid. It is well worth the experience at least once. If you do go, I suggest trying the Taster Menu, something that we would have liked to have done. Apparently you need to do this in advance.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xcskierottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

No question the food is good. Is it overpriced? Yes. Is it overrated? Yes. This is one of these places that yes, you have to give it it's due, the food is good, the atmosphere is okay - it is crowded and I found it noisy. It's reputation was overblown for a number of reasons not worth mentioning and it became a place with good food (not the best in Ottawa) but the clientele were a who's who. Well diners at anohter table do not my meal or experience make. Nuff said?

Helpful?
7 Thank Sunsequitur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This restaurant is one of the top rated in Canada for a reason. It seriously could not have been better. Perfect staff, amazing food, great atmosphere. It was crazy expensive but honestly, I would eat here every day if I was rich.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank susanr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Never fails to deliver”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Although perhaps the most money we've ever spent in a restaurant, it was great to be have everything go so perfectly. The staff are simply second to none (attentive without being in your face, anticipating your requirements--eg, removing a plate, offering bread, etc), the wines were well suggested and worked beautifully, and the tasting menu offered so much variety and exquisite tastes. Throwing in the cheese plate was the perfect conclusion to the culinary event.

Any problems? The cappucino was actually quite dreadful. Not sure what went wrong there. Portion size--simply too small. When the food is this good, I want more of it (and I'm not a big man!)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tashasmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beckta Dining & Wine also viewed

Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 
Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Beckta Dining & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing