We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Lagoon Restaurant

Coconut Lagoon Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 2,713 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Coconut Lagoon is an Oasis for rich South Indian food, We specialize in a wide variety of Vegetarian and vegan dishes to offer at the Coconut Lagoon. We specialize in hand made Parathas, Idli, Dosa, currries and lot of Exotic seafood dishes. We have a wide variety of Biryani, Thali and our home made desserts are unique. While you are at Coconut Lagoon don't forget to taste our Madras Coffee and Indian Chai. So Prepare yourselves for a most memorable journey through South Indian cuisine and feast on high quality food of inimitable flavour, aroma and originality in the vibrant setting of Coconut Lagoon. Here at the Coconut Lagoon we believe that exceed expectations leave with an impression. Looking forward to serving you at the Coconut Lagoon Restaurant.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have tried this restaurant twice and have been disappointed both times with the selection and flavor of the lunch buffet. I think it is just we are not fans of southern indian cooking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pairodise12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    113
    26
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A good find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Great food, nice to have another good choice for Indian food.

Quite pleased with all aspects of the visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AC110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Delicious food - I try to visit this restaurant as often as possible, as I love the food. So authentic, so delicious. The food "sings" in your mouth - full of flavour and subtle spices. Just typing this is making my mouth water! :)

It's a rather casual atmosphere (decor), and we often go for the lunch buffet (around $15 pp). But the dinner menu is also amazing - the butter chicken, marsala, etc are amazing!

Cheers to the Chef.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bluenoser840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carp, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Indian food that is not downtown!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Went for the lunch buffet. Everything was good. Not a big buffet but when everything is so tasty you don't need so much. Not overpriced, very good quality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Iris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Indian food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The "thali" dish is not to be missed - it allows you to sample seven things on the menu, with tiny portions of each so you don't get tired of anything.
The dishes run from sweet to mildly spicy, and all are pleasant. I especially appreciated the chicken option, though a bit pricier than the rest of the menu, at 19$.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jpdaigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Lagoon Restaurant also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Coconut Lagoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing