We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its all about the food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Lagoon Restaurant

Coconut Lagoon Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 2,710 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Coconut Lagoon is an Oasis for rich South Indian food, We specialize in a wide variety of Vegetarian and vegan dishes to offer at the Coconut Lagoon. We specialize in hand made Parathas, Idli, Dosa, currries and lot of Exotic seafood dishes. We have a wide variety of Biryani, Thali and our home made desserts are unique. While you are at Coconut Lagoon don't forget to taste our Madras Coffee and Indian Chai. So Prepare yourselves for a most memorable journey through South Indian cuisine and feast on high quality food of inimitable flavour, aroma and originality in the vibrant setting of Coconut Lagoon. Here at the Coconut Lagoon we believe that exceed expectations leave with an impression. Looking forward to serving you at the Coconut Lagoon Restaurant.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Its all about the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This restaurant catered my son's wedding. We eat there a couple of times a year. Its wonderful for the lunch buffet, intimate dining for two, or for a large family gathering. The southern Indian cuisine is a bit different, spicy, and really well prepared. Not much atmosphere - this place is all about the food.
Yum.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    113
    26
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
276 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Authentic South Indian Food in Ottawa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Don't be thrown off by the somewhat tacky decor inside and out. Come in and enjoy the warm service and the excellent food. I've gone for both the buffet and ordered off the menu and you simply can't go wrong. The food is always fresh and delicious.
I highly encourage you to try dishes such as the masala dosa.......mmmmmmmmmmm
Experiment each time you go and find the dishes you like best.

I've taken quite a few friends there and nobody has been disappointed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eddie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visit this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Tastiest indian cuisine and excellent service. You must check this place out. I've eaten at many Indian restaurants across the country and this one is my favourite! I will be back soon!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell Ontario
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Delightful South Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We are regulars at Coconut Lagoon and have brought many friends and family. It is consistently tasty and the service is friendly and efficient.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Zianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Authentic Kerala dishes with excellent service at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Joe and Majoe provide excellent service in dishing out authentic Kerala dishes in this Indian restaurant. Specialities of the house, using traditional Kerala cuisine come in various sizes and shape and is a delight for the palate and a refreshing change from the traditional Indian restaurants. The lunch buffet is specially good, where the variety offered is not compromised by the price and style. The Kerala Paratha is particularly good and you can order the 'dosa' on the side. The fish curries, Kerala style, is particularly delicious. The north Indian fare, adds to the variety, but one should visit this place for the Kerala specialties.
Service, not only from the owner-managers, but the staff, is outstanding.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rama N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Lagoon Restaurant also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Coconut Lagoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing