We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, excellent service and excellent price.”
Review of Chu Shing

Chu Shing
Ranked #999 of 2,746 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Seafood, Soups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
1,023 reviews
508 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service and excellent price.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Four of us went for Dim Sum. The restaurant was very busy but we were lucky enough to get a table after only waiting 10 minutes. This was definitely the best Dim Sum that I have had in many years. Better than those I have had in Vancouver, London(UK), Sydney(Aus) and even Hong Kong. The waiters and waitresses were really pleasant and friendly. Everything we asked for they brought immediately. We ate quite a few different dishes, and when we got the bill we were all surprised at how reasonable the price of each item was. I would definitely recommend Chu Shing, and will be returning on my next visit to Ottawa.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    22
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food in Ottawa!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

When it comes to Chinese food, Chu Shing is the Best! It has all the foods you want to eat, whether it be comfort food like the wonton soup, snack such as the shrimp dumplings, or fancy food such as Peking Duck or Fried Fish in Sweet and Sour Sauce, or the Salt and Pepper Shrimps. We always take our out-of-town visitors to Chu Shing, and celebrate special occasions (birthdays, anniversaries, new years, christmases) at Chu Shing. We go to Toronto quite often and we find the food better at Chu Shing. We were away in Hawaii recently; the Chinese food there is ok, but we longed to get back to Ottawa for Chu Shing food. The new owner is very nice and this reflects on the wonderful staff. He did quite a bit of improvements (the circular staircase, lighting, painting, etc.) since his take over. Good food for very reasonable price!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneMarieLWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The place for Dim Sun”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went to this restaurant on Chrismas Day. It was full and 90% of the clients were chinese. They offer dim sun everyday and they have a large variety of plates. When you are in the restaurant it fells like being in China. It is an authentic chinese restaurant worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TempoLibre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best in Chinese Food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

When it comes to Chinese Food, Chu Shing is the Best! It has all the foods you want to eat, whether it be comfort food like the wonton soup, snack such as the shrimp dumplings, or fancy food such as Peking Duck or Fried Fish in Sweet and Sour Sauce, or the Salt and Pepper Shrimps. When we get visitors, we take them to Chu Shing and they claim the food is better than in Toronto! Try it and you will never go to another chinese restaurant in town. The staff there is wonderful too!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Chu Shing food is back to being great”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I've been eating there since it opened. About a year ago, food and service started to deteriorate. Turned out the business was for sale. We waited until the new owners had a few months to sort things out and went back today. We ordered 5 of our favourite things: Hot and Sour Soup, Szechuan Beef, Sweet and Sour Pork, Singapore Rice noodles: these were all great. Chicken and Veg Fried Noodle tasted great but was a bit oilier than it should be. It will be a while until they regain all their former clients, but it was nice to see all the chinese multi-generation families back at the big round tables. 5 dishes listed + 2 spring rolls = $55.00

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MilaMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chu Shing also viewed

 

Been to Chu Shing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing