We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Malaysian restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chahaya Malaysia Restaurant

Chahaya Malaysia Restaurant
Ranked #288 of 2,709 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
249 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Very good Malaysian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Went here with my wife and two young children. It was a really quick and easy drive from downtown. Its a small intimate place with a lot of choices on the menu. We were somewhat familiar with Malaysian food but the staff were helpful with whatever questions we had. The food was delicious and the staff were wonderful to my children. The physical structure is a bit worn and the bathroom is sort of run down, but luckily the food is delicious and the service great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    22
    9
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly service and yummy food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

The server was super friendly and attentive.

We had spring rolls to start, they were amazing!

For mains we had beef rendang java an lamb curry. Mmm both were amazing! The meat was very tender.

They use a lot of spice, but we were warned, which was very considerate of them. It saved us ordering something too hot! We like spice, but the chili sauce at the table could burn your tongue off!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Malaysian Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food at Chahaya Malaysia is to die for. I go there at least a few times a month for their Soya Tofu, Lamb Curry, Chicken Special and Beef Rendang. The food is always prepared extremely well and the staff is very friendly and courteous. If you're ever in Ottawa, you must eat here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
519 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Solid, consistent, Malay and Indonesian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We go here often [and have been going to the restaurant for 20 years or so, ever since it was in its old location in the the Glebe] It's a family run business and the owners know their food. The chili squid packs some decent heat and there is a homemade chili sauce on all the tables that you can use to turn it up even more should you want. The rendang is consistently wonderful and the food never disappoints. I just wish that the restaurant was closer to downtown! [maybe they should get a location in Sandy Hill!!]

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TristanEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I had read a lot of good reviews on this restaurant so was disappointed. The host was friendly and the service good but the food was disappointing. Everything was a tad too greasy and spicy. Will not go back.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank hautevoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chahaya Malaysia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chahaya Malaysia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing