We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucky 13”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Absinthe

Absinthe
Ranked #6 of 2,726 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Absinthe is a Restaurant where you can eat too much, drink too much, put your elbows on the table and laugh out loud...all at the same time and nobody cares. Absinthe is a restaurant of the people for the people.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lucky 13”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My beautiful wife of 13 years had a meal of matching beauty at Absinthe. Okay, my meal was great too.
For some reason we've never visited this Wellington institution, despite have read many positive reviews, talked to many other fans of the restaurant, and, at one point, having had a cousin work there!
That oversight was put to rest this past week, when we celebrated our 13th wedding anniversary. In the mood to celebrate, we each had the table d'hote. The centerpiece of my wife's meal was the duck; cooked perfectly, and surrounded by an amazing cauliflower and goat cheese side. My bison steak was cooked a perfect medium rare and the au jus-based sauced complimented it perfectly.
The strong opening apps and cleansing salad both tasted great, and made the meal too perfect (and too filling) for much dessert.
Would recommend it over and over.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chrispbridgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    119
    35
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Recently I had lunch in a restaurant in Ottawa called Absinthe, located on Wellington St W near the Irving Greenberg Theatre.
I started with a cappuccino as it was around Noon and was feeling an urgent need for caffeine.
Sugar, which I didn't need, came cubed white and brown on a little plate. Looked great.
My daughter chose steak frites and was very happy with her choice.
I had the salad Nicoise, tasty tuna, egg, haricot beans, potato, onion, etc parsley I believe, in a creamy delicious but not overpowering dressing.
We shared ice cream for dessert, chocolate, vanilla and raisin brandy or some such. Delicious, made on the premises apparently.
Looking forward to returning lunch or dinner at some future point. In the near future, I hope. There's convenient parking out back.
Right next door to a good gift store called Ravensara.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cabsauve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Enjoyed a nice meal here. Food was very good but the wait between courses was grueling. Aside from that glitch, service was excellent - our waiter (Michael? - tall, dark hair) was amazing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for a date night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This place came highly recommended by my fiancé and friends. The portion sizes were perfect, good ambience, excellent service and knowledgeable staff. I didn't particularly enjoy my burger + poutine meal but did taste my fiancé steak and it was really good. It's a bit pricey but you get your money's worth. A great place for a date night! :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MediaBOSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer, Qc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Meal in a Long Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I love how consistent this restaurant is. I've been 4 times, had 4 different meals, and each one was as good as the last. The portion sizes are perfect, the ambience is lovely, it makes for a wonderful date night. The service is always excellent, the staff are very attentive, but don't come too often, it's wonderful.

Great food, great service, will be going many more times :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyMicC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Absinthe also viewed

Ottawa, Ontario
Stittsville, Ottawa
 
Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Absinthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing