We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Downtown Bed and Breakfast & Spa
Ranked #20 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

It might be a bit expensive, but when you arrive you'll notice that it's totally worth it. The rooms are very nice and large. The bathroom is clean and spacious (inlcudes a bath). In the morning you will get breakfast containing cereal and/or toast with jam. There is free coffee/thee and fresh water available. The hosts are very nice, willing to give advice and are enthusiastic about their town. Location is nice, near a bus terminal and close to Elgin street and Parliament hill. I would definitely recommend this bed & breakfast, the somewhat higher price is worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niels H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    26
    13
    9
    15
See reviews for
16
39
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed with Siri and Hari for a month while I was working in Ottawa on a dance project. They are lovely, warm and welcoming people and I feel very fortunate to have stayed in their home during my time in Ottawa. Siri and Hari are well known in the dance and arts community, and it was wonderful to stay with people who are so supportive and understanding of my lifestyle. The B&B is very well located in downtown Ottawa, and Siri and Hari made sure I had all the information I needed to get around and enjoy the city. The house is clean and comfortable, and the breakfast is simple and delicious vegetarian fare. I would highly recommend booking a massage with Siri during your stay, she is miraculous! All in all I had a lovely stay here and will definitely be back next time I am in Ottawa!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Downtown B&B spa, is a nice place where we stay when we are going to Ottawa. Well located, in downtown, and at 5 mn walk to the nature museum, it is also close to parliament and other museums. The price is affordable and it worth it largely.
Our hosts Siri & Hari received us very well, and provided us informations on places to visit and restaurants.
It is a nice time the whole family spent there, I strongly recommend people to stay there.

Room Tip: The rooms are all quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I really loved my stay at the Bed and Breakfast Spa, it was a delightful experience. The Hosts, Siri and Hari are commendable in their manner of approach and friendliness. For me, it was my first time in Ottawa and being a student and all I wanted something affordable, so I was directed there by a good Samaritan. I enjoyed my stay, especially my visit to the Snow sculptures with other lodgers as it was being displayed at that time of the year. What I liked most was that I was made to feel at home, and comfortable when. If I visit Ottawa again I will be happy to stay there again especially knowing I will have Hari and Siri as companions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Simple yet Spartan Atmosphere with Hosts whose guidance and Spirit make up for any deficiencies a picky traveller would observe, prime downtown walk to all major cultural and heritage sites and activities one may encounter in the Nation's Capital. This is a simple Jewel in the Crown where ones each and every wish is catered to by Staff whose abilities are wonderful and cultured to say the least, with Wonderful small amenities like purified Water that even Hotels like the Chateau Laurier can not afford to implement, are just the standards which
are included in the kitchen area for one's enjoyment especially when siping on Fine Tea
on Gourmet Coffee, where only in this location one could find!!! Lovely sleep right atmosphere with a Human Touch thru and Thru ! Good Work Staff !!!

Room Tip: Second Floor Cozy and Quiet Rooms with Perfect View of the Museum of Nature known as the Victoria Mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyKanata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Siri and Hari were wonderful hosts providing excellent advice on restaurants, sites to see and seasonal activities. They were thrilled to answer any questions we had. They even took our dog for a walk when we were at the museum. We walked to the Rideau canal (less than five minutes) to enjoy the skating and Beavertails (local treats found right on the canal). Their environmentally friendly practices, great location and good value are the three of the reasons we will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Thanks to hosts Siri and Hari for a great visit to Ottawa! Accommodations were clean, neat and nicely decorated. We had a great time visiting the city and, thanks to Siri, found some great restrauants.

Room Tip: The "Grand Suite" is the best, even tho it is in the front, it is a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenbodica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.3 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
1.2 mi away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.9 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Bed and Breakfast & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Bed and Breakfast & Spa

Property: Downtown Bed and Breakfast & Spa
Address: 263 McLeod St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 1A1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Downtown Bed and Breakfast & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Downtown Bed and Breakfast & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Downtown Bed And Breakfast And Spa
Downtown b&b & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing