We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Rustic yet convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rideau Heights Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rideau Heights Inn
Ranked #38 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rustic yet convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Rideau Heights Inn for two nights. I was a little concerned when I showed up in the office to everything covered with painter's cloths and no one around however quickly learned that the owner was just around the door preparing for the next days' breakfast. I cannot, in the 50 some years I have been staying in 5-star hotels and 3-star motels ever had a bed as comfortable as the one at the Rideau Heights Inn. They have just finished a makeover of all the rooms and they are spacious and well appointed. One recommendation I would have for them is that they need to change their shower heads! The luxury of the bed is a complete opposite for the old style shower head that feels like needles coming out of the wall. Also found that when I went to take a bath at 11:00 pm that I could not get really hot water and wonder whether the water tanks are set on a set-back thermometer to conserve energy which is great normally but this was a cold, rainy night and I really wanted a hot bath! The water temp the next day was perfect.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room right on the parking lot and it was good except for one of our neighbours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    81
    32
    10
    2
See reviews for
49
64
23
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at this motel on the recommendation of local friends whom we were visiting. It is easy access if your visit is to the south side of Ottawa near Prince of Wales Drive. The room was small but clean, with a very comfortable king-size bed. Natural ventilation was minimal. There is a small fridge and a large flat-screen TV with a large package of channels, including many specialty channels. The bathroom was tiny with no towel racks. The security lock on the door did not work (the bolt seemed misaligned with the hole in the door frame). The complementary breakfast consists only small cereal boxes and muffins. The Wi-Fi seemed slow. It's price is lower than most major chains in Ottawa, but higher than some Mom & Pop places. The check-out process was slow and cumbersome considering they had already swiped our card when we arrived. Nonetheless we'll probably return because of its location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dusty_Archivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The room was good and seemed clean. The TV was a good-sized flat screen with a fair number of cable channels.

The bathroom was small with floor space the width of the toilet to step out of the shower.

We dealt with two good sized spiders and saw at least one other bug that we didn't get.

The coffee was weak and the muffins, cereal, etc. were very basic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank North9ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This establishment is located away from the downtown area of Ottawa, near the airport. The grounds are clean and well kept. There are a number of eating establishments close-by but not within walking distance. Unfortunately, there is was no microwave provided in the room, so there is no way to re-heat leftovers from a restaurant, or in our case, a delivered pizza. (which was from Milano's and was excellent by the way. Delivery menus available in the Inn Office).
All staff we dealt with were friendly, courteous and professional. Information they provided regarding eating and shopping in the area was very helpful.
The room was very clean and and spacious. I liked the layout of the toilet and shower being in a separate room from the bathroom sink, hair dryer, and extra large mirror.
The included continental breakfast was satisfactory, but it should be noted that there is no eating area in the lobby. Trays are provided to take your breakfast selections to your room.
Not a problem during nice weather, but not so sure about inclement or cold weather, although the walk to the Lobby from the rooms is covered.
Judging by the number of cars in the parking lot, the place was quite full of guests, but we never heard any extraneous noise during our two night stay.
All in all, a very pleasant stay, and we are already booked in to return again this September.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Visiting our granddaughter we chose here as it was close to her.
Very clean and the bed was so comfy best we have ever had, will be staying here again on our next visit.
Only down side the room next door had their AC/Heating fan on which vibrated through to our room and was quite noisey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a good clean room in the south of Ottawa at a reasonable price this is a good choice! It's not a Delta but nicely put together very pleasant setting and the staff are very amiable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canuckwithtaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were in Ottawa for the last weekend of Winterlude. The hotel was priced well for what it provided; not a 'swanky' place to stay but the room was clean and comfortable. Coffee in your room and our room had a bar fridge that we could store some essentials in. The complimentary continental breakfast was good and what you would expect - coffee, tea, juice, pastries, muffins, small boxes of cereal, milk, etc. We took advantage of it while there for the two mornings and it was worthwhile.
The drive to Ottawa is just a couple of minutes and it is close to the bay at the end of the Rideau Canal so you can skate into town if you wish.
Staff were friendly and knowledgeable.
The WiFi worked perfectly on my iPad2 and was included in the price. We were right next to the office so I cannot comment on its range.
We plan on booking again when we return for a visit in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
2.8 mi away
Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa West
6.5 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa West
Days Inn - Ottawa West
#41 of 67 in Ottawa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa Airport
7.0 mi away
Travelodge Ottawa East
Travelodge Ottawa East
#51 of 67 in Ottawa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rideau Heights Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rideau Heights Inn

Property: Rideau Heights Inn
Address: 72 Rideau Heights Dr, Ottawa, Ontario K2E 7A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rideau Heights Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rideau Heights Inn is a short drive to the downtown area, along which you will discover the historical Rideau Canal and the heart beat of Ottawa. In the other direction you will be pleased to know we are also a short 15 minute drive to the Ottawa International Airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Rideau Heights Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rideau Heights Hotel Ottawa
Rideau Heights Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing