We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean,affordable and takes pets!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rideau Heights Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rideau Heights Inn
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Ottawa
Vermette
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean,affordable and takes pets!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We attended a major dog show in Ottawa.This hotel was minutes from the CE Center and the airport. Although we were under a flight path, you really could not hear the planes. Very comfortable bed! The grounds were grass and well treed. You park right in front of your room. Breakfast was basic muffins, coffee and cereal. Restaurants were all around the area within driving distances.We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    77
    31
    10
    2
See reviews for
48
63
21
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Depoe Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
185 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here on the first night of our trip and also on the last night, as it is an easy drive to and from the Ottawa International Airport. It is a basic Inn, but is clean and has everything you need for a comfortable night's stay. We dealt with Roger and also with Yakoub (not sure if I spelled his name right) and they were both more than friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Clean place and the staff was friendly but the toilet on room (#5) where I stayed was shaking and when I told someone in the office, she seemed like she was aware of it.
There was a hole on the Muffin which looked like a rodent had already had his breakfast before it ended up in my hand. Quite place? Sure if the cars or trucks were not parked in front of your room, as I was woken up by people opening and closing their vehicle doors with heavy hands.
This maybe an isolated issue, so you be the judge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torcan1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMMV, General Manager at Rideau Heights Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. We value every comment and take them all into account. We are eager to improve every issues we can, however, unfortunately some are out of our control.

In regards to our muffins they are made by a local bakery and sometimes they come in shapes that don't look like the traditional muffins. We have never had a rodent problem in the 30 years we have been in business.

We are in the process in renovating our bathrooms and yours was one that was just completed. I was not aware of the loose toilet until you brought it to my attention. I thank you for that because we had it fixed that day.

As for the car doors, we apologise that some of our guests were too loud in their departure.

Again, I thank you for your review and we use every comment to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

I read the reviews here and booked a King Suite for three days. The sofa bed for my daughter was made up before we checked in which was nice. The room seems newly renovated, well laid out and spacious. And immaculate. The King bed with duvet covers is big and comfy. The hotel staff is very pleasant and helpful. Coffe in the room with coffee and muffins in the manager's office as well. I am very impressed and will definitely recommend and return.
It really shows when a business aims to please. Well done!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Taz416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We read prior reviews and took a chance. Found a clean, newly renovated room that was very reasonable and easily recommended. It lists "breakfast" which was a mediocre selection of saranwrapped muffins on the counter along with a coffee make a fridge. Seemed like false adv ertising. And it was somewhat noisy with students in other areas of the motel. But we would return and would recommend. Make sure to ask for the renovated rooms. (NOTE: pool and restaraunt rating entered in error)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I went on a two night trip to Ottawa and stayed in the Rideau Heights Inn, the room was very clean and nicely set up. It was one of those out in the middle of no where relaxing getaways with out being in the middle of no where we were only 10 mins from everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaosgirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We found this unique quiet place....nice surroundings, close to airport

Room Tip: Easy access to the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EileenPat Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
6.5 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa West
Days Inn - Ottawa West
#42 of 66 in Ottawa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
2.8 mi away
Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa Airport
5.4 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rideau Heights Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rideau Heights Inn

Property: Rideau Heights Inn
Address: 72 Rideau Heights Dr, Ottawa, Ontario K2E 7A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rideau Heights Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rideau Heights Inn is a short drive to the downtown area, along which you will discover the historical Rideau Canal and the heart beat of Ottawa. In the other direction you will be pleased to know we are also a short 15 minute drive to the Ottawa International Airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Rideau Heights Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rideau Heights Hotel Ottawa
Rideau Heights Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing