We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Hotel, Mod Decor, Smallish Rooms”
Review of The Metcalfe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Metcalfe Hotel
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Western North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting Hotel, Mod Decor, Smallish Rooms”
Reviewed July 18, 2009

We spend a weekend night at the Indigo and were generally pleased. The location is great, although the downtown area of Ottawa DIES on weekends, the streets are pretty empty, and most restaurants and coffee shops close early or for the entire weekend. However, Parliament Hill and the Byward marker area are only a 10 - 15 walk. Ottawa's excellent public transportation is easily accessible from the hotel.

The hotel is a well-remodeled older building, and the interior design is quite mod, with the Indigo color scheme everywhere (If you don't like blue, you must eschew.) There is a central atrium which brings lots of light right down to the center of the lobby (except when it's heavily overcast, of course). The rooms are a bit small and the ceilings a bit low. If you are over 6'3" or are a big person, you're going to feel claustrophobic. Note that some rooms have windows that look only on the atrium. Also, ask for a high floor, as the hotel is on a busy urban street corner.

We were tired after a long day on our feet, and decided to just eat in the hotel's restaurant, Phi. We were pleasantly surprised. Dinner was well prepared and served. Breakfast was also good, and, as at dinner, the menu was quite diverse.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrenchBroadCabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2009
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us at Hotel Indigo! It is the comments we hear from our guests that helps us to continuously improve upon our product and service.

I'm happy you found our location to be so ideal during your stay in Ottawa and that you enjoyed the decor of our rooms. Yes, we do like our blue at Hotel Indigo! Were you able to experience the blue glow of the atrium in the evenings? It is quite spectacular.

I hope you enjoyed your stay in Ottawa and we look forward to in.viting you back on your next visit.

In.hospitality,
Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    459
    143
    37
    17
See reviews for
201
348
59
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Stay one night via our trip to Quebec. Location is ok. Booked on line without problems for reasonable price, and I was not disappointed. Service was good, staff were friendly. Enjoyed the pool, but hot-tab was broken.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobsonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2009
Thanks so much for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us! It is the comments we receive from our guests like yourself that allow us to continuously improve upon our service and product. I am happy your found our staff to be friendly and that the service was good. I apologize the hot tub was not working and I am looking into that with the maintenance department right away.

I hope you enjoyed your trip in Quebec and we look forward to in.viting you back to Hotel indigo on your next visit to Ottawa.

In.hospitality,

Kim Jones
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Hotel Indigo was available to be booked with traveler points through Intercontinental Hotel Group so our stay at this gorgeous hotel was free. We stayed 5 nights and could not have been more pleased. The hotel is beautiful with clean design, contemporary and beautiful rooms. VERY comfortable beds, upscale linens and decor. Our bed even sported several pillows, each a different fill--nice touch! I did not find the staff to be overly friendly, and would have preferred to hear a "hello" from them at times but that's just me. Our first day we had breakfast at the hotel restaurant, service was horrible and the food was lacking...the fruit cup I ordered looked to be right out of a can...and we had to hunt someone down to get our check. That aside, the location can't be beat. Just a few short blocks to Parliament Hill, Sparks Street, etc. You are truly in the "hub" of Ottawa in this heavenly hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthemove22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2009
onthemove22,

Thank you for providing your feedback with regards to your stay with us. It is always nice to have Priority Club Members stay with us at Hotel Indigo! It is the feedback we receive from our guests that allows us to continuously improve upon the product and service.

I am happy you were so comfortable in your guest room and found the location to be so ideal for your visit to Ottawa. We are definitely in a good location for sightseeing around downtown Ottawa.

I was very disappointed to read your comment about the lack of friendliness in our staff. We have an amazing team here at Hotel Indigo and I am so sorry that you did not experience that. I will remind our In.bassadors the importance of ensuring that each and every guest enjoys the in.credible hospitality that I know they can provide.

I'm also unsure what happened with your breakfast as the fruit salad is usually quite good (I often eat it myself). I will follow up with our restaurant manager to find out what happened that day and ensure they are always providing their usual fresh fruit salad.

Again I would like to thank you for your comments and should you wish to discuss anything further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at Hotel Indigo. We look forward to inviting you back on your next trip to Ottawa!

Yours in.hospitality,

Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

I picked the Indigo Hotel because it seemed perfect for the type of hotel we would enjoy, and I was not disappointed. We loved it!!! We stayed in a suite which was perfect for us and my 12 year old daughter. We had a completely separate bedroom and she had the spacious living area to herself. We loved the dark laminate flooring- very, very nice for a hotel. The furnishings and decorations were beautiful and tasteful. The bathroom was tiny, but we did not mind. The shower was awesome!

My daughter and I really enjoyed the pool and hot tub- the pool area was very nice and clean, and with the glass ceiling, it was very bright. We did not use it, but they had a nice fitness center also.

We went to the Phi restaurant twice- for breakfast and dinner, and it was very good and beautifully decorated. The lobby is big and spacious and beautiful. The layout of the hotel lobby which is 6 stories high, is very different and captivating. I loved the indigo lights in the evening.

I would not hesitate to stay there again if I ever visit Ottawa. Beautiful. Also, the staff were very friendly and helpful. I have not one negative thing to say about Hotel Indigo.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darlenemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2009
Thanks so much for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us! Reading the comments we receive from guests like yourself provides us with the feedback we require to continuously improve upon our product and service. And I especially love to read such in.spiring stories such as yours! I am so happy you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to in.viting you back again.

P.S. I love your photos of our 6 Story Atrium!

In.hospitality,

Kim Jones
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Very warm welcome and a fantastic hotel with friendly staff, parking is under the hotel and good value. position is ideal for city centre and sites. Rooms are large clean and hotel has everything you will need.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2009

We stayed at Indigo for the second time. The room is good size, however, it was smaller than the room we had on our first stay. The bed is confortable. The amenities are great, they provide Aveda products. We will surely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2009

This place is very clean (no ugly suspecios looking carpet or bed). Very nice and quite. Service was perfect and employees are kind. If I go back to Ottawa I'm sure to go there and if I visit a city I'll look for an Indigo Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammyMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#9 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metcalfe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metcalfe Hotel

Property: The Metcalfe Hotel
Address: 123 Metcalfe St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5L9, Canada (Formerly Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Metcalfe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metcalfe Hotel is a trendy boutique hotel located in downtown Ottawa and is ideal for those traveling for business or pleasure. Discover what our vibrant neighborhood has to offer! While staying at The Metcalfe enjoy our indoor pool, 24 hour fitness centre and complimentary high speed internet. Leisure travelers who are seeking a unique hotel experience can escape to our Ottawa hotel, which is conveniently located near a variety of local attractions. The Metcalfe Hotel, located in the Ottawa City Centre, places you within walking distance of Rideau Canal, the National Arts Centre and Parliament Hill. Our hotel is just minutes from many local parks, outdoor malls and shopping centres. The Metcalfe Hotel is ideal for business travelers since we're located just minutes from companies such as Shopify, Bell Canada and NAV Canada, as well as many government offices and the Shaw Centre. Our hotel in downtown Ottawa is also convenient to the British High Commission, the Ontario Court House and the World Exchange Plaza. Guests of the hotel can enjoy our onsite restaurant, The Rox, where the food is locally sourced and the service is inspiring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Metcalfe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottawa Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing