We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Easily located and centrally located, this hotel is within walking distance of everything from the Natural History Museum to the Parliament buildings, the canal to Sparks Street. The price was reasonable, the rooms clean and nicely decorated. We had issues with temperature control and evening hallway noise but really enjoyed the pool, fitness rooms and hot tub. I found the bed very hard (painfully so) but the rest of my family said they slept well. I would also have preferred a bath tub over a shower but recognize that it's a matter of taste.

Room Tip: I'd suggest requesting an exterior room so that you'll have a window to open for fresh air a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2gol4s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. All feedback received from our guests allows us to continuously improve upon our product and service.

I am glad you enjoyed our neighbourhood, there are so many wonderful things to see and do within walking distance of our hotel.

Please accept my apologies that you did not have a restful sleep. We do have spa inspired showers in all of our guest rooms, however, we do have a few rooms that also have bathtubs so please be sure to request one on your next stay.

We look forward to inviting you back to Hotel Indigo on your next trip to Ottawa.

Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    419
    130
    36
    17
See reviews for
183
327
56
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gustavsberg, Sweden
Level Contributor
184 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel i centrally located but in a boring neighb. The rooms are ok but not more than that, the tv didnt work that well and also not one of the lamps. Something to work on.
Breakfast not included but available with great coffee. Wifi included in rate.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnusigurra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Magnusigurra,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the amenities in the room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We found this to be a great location for exploring the city. The staff was very helpful in guiding us to where we needed to be and finding a place for our rented bikes. The bar area was nice, not crowded or loud. This was our second time staying at this hotel - we were here a couple of years ago for a visit that was too short and decided to come back. We would stay at this hotel again and again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murphrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Hotel Indigo on TripAdvisor. We love to hear feedback from guests like youself so we are better able to improve upon our product and service.

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I must admit I thought you must be very adventurous renting bikes in February until I noticed you stayed with us in September. If you do return in February we have great skate rentals available!

We look forward to inviting you back to Hotel Indigo again and again!

Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel location and staff are great. The main problem was the shower pressure which was way too low (6th floor) and heating which didnt seem to work in my room. The room nicely decorated however faced the inside of the hotel. You would think if I paid full price for a several day stay they would put me in a nicer room with a view.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpolides1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear cpolides1,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I'm glad that you found our location and staff to be great. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the unsatisfactory water pressure and heating condition you have experienced during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to stay with us and hope that this occasion did not deter you from staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Everything about my stay was excellent. The staff, the room, the service and the hotel itself were all perfect. I was there for political reasons and the hotel's proximity to the Parliament Buildings was an added bonus. No hesitation recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suite on the second floor was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SocratesCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here for winterlude. Good location, close to the park where all the icecarving was. Easy to get to the Rideau Canal. Not far to Parliament Hill. Just across the canal to Byward Market. Rooms smallish but clean and all that we needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halfwayhome101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a smallish hotel in a great location, near the Parliament Buildings and within walking distance of good restaurants and tourist attractions. The room didn't have carpeting which is nice for people with dust allergies. All rooms are entered from a "court yard" and there is a decent restaurant for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazycycler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 69 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,849 reviews
ARC The Hotel
#20 of 69 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lord Elgin
#17 of 69 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 stars 2,338 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#10 of 69 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown

Property: Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown
Address: 123 Metcalfe St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5L9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo is a trendy boutique hotel located in downtown Ottawa and is ideal for those traveling for business or pleasure. Discover what our vibrant neighborhood has to offer! While staying at Hotel Indigo enjoy our indoor pool, 24 hour fitness centre and complimentary high speed internet. Leisure travelers who are seeking a unique hotel experience can escape to our Ottawa hotel, which is conveniently located near a variety of local attractions. Hotel Indigo Ottawa, located in the Ottawa City Centre, places you within walking distance of Rideau Canal, the National Arts Centre and Parliament Hill. Our hotel is just minutes from many local parks, outdoor malls and shopping centres. Hotel Indigo Ottawa is ideal for business travelers since we're located just minutes from companies such as Shopify, Bell Canada and NAV Canada, as well as many government offices and the Shaw Centre. Our hotel in downtown Ottawa is also convenient to the British High Commission, the Ontario Court House and the World Exchange Plaza. Guests of the hotel can enjoy our onsite restaurant, Phi Bistro & Bar, where the food is fresh and the service is inspiring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottawa Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing