We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After 6 nights would return next time in Ottawa”
Review of The Metcalfe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Metcalfe Hotel
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“After 6 nights would return next time in Ottawa”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I don't typically have the opportunity to stay in one hotel for multiple nights but this time I was able to stay 6 nights. Overall it was a good stay and I would stay here again next time I am in Ottawa.

Pros: located close to Parliament square and the tour buses so if you are here sightseeing it is a very good location. The staff was friendly and helpful overall but the service can be very slow at times. Room was clean and average size with a comfortable bed. I took the advice of other travelers and asked for a forward facing room on the 6th floor so there was plenty of light and a good view. The best part was the restaurant/bar being open until 11pm during the week (but closes early on Sunday).

Cons: breakfast is a seperate charge and expensive compared to other options very close by. I ate breakfast at the hotel three times and each time the service was extremely slow with food taking on average of 20-30 minutes to arrive. This isn't a big deal if you are on vacation but very inconvenient if you are in a hurry. A huge con for a chain hotel like this is no wifi except in the lobby and then it was quite slow. This was quite inconvenient for a iPhone/iPad user like myself so beware. I had to laugh at other reviews about the very small towels (they were pretty rough) and the small pillows because the pillows were small that over half the bed had no pillows!

Good hotel with a restaurant, wired only internet, clean rooms, slow service, but very convenient location.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room facing the front of the hotel so you aren't facing the other buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KnowingThisKnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    466
    145
    37
    17
See reviews for
203
353
64
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I've decided to go for the list approach:

Pros
- excellent front desk staff (whether it was helping me locate a nail file or getting me a late check-out, each of them was great).
- solid gold location (walking distance to government buildings (work), shopping and major tourism sites)
- accommodated both an early check-in (9:30 am) and a late check-out (2:00 pm)
- close to nearby fitness studios (check out pilates space for an intense workout)
- great range of food options (for those with allergies, or who like a variety)
- breakfasts were reasonably priced (I always shudder at those $20 bills you get at some places for a cup of coffee and some oatmeal).
- nice contemporary decor
- good sized rooms
- pool (the giant skylight over it was a nice touch).
- a full suite of Canadian satellite channels (so that I could catch the latest on Real Housewives of Vancouver or Dangerous Flights).

Cons
- no bathtub (large shower, but bathtub people with aching muscles won't be satisfied with that or the luke warm jacuzzi)
- no WiFi in rooms (wired only, which sucks for IPAD users).
- room was dark (because I was facing the wall of the neighbouring building; in fact, comparing notes with a colleague on the 4th floor, I discovered that a whole side of the hotel faces a wall).

Room Tip: See if you can get a room that faces the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bleurussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We spent two nights here, booked for my husband as part of a business trip. Although my choice if we were paying would be Business Inn, this was a very pleasant spot. The reception crew was terrific, the room clean and comfortable and the location excellent. I do agree with a previous reviewer; although the the bath towels are adequate, they are smaller than what we have at home, and the pillows are small for a king size bed. I mentioned both to the reception staff, after commenting on the cleanliness of the hotel. The bed was quite comfortable, a necessity for me, and I slept for 8+ hours each night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank piratepirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, N Ireland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I'm not normally into retro and chic hotels but this was fabulous. The decor was lovely-never thought I would like a hotel room that had one wall which looked like a blue jersey! The room was stunning and more importantly comfy with big comfy beds. Very clean and everything you would want. Had our meal there that night and also breakfast which were very good. As this is a government city there isn't much in the surrounding area regards dining. Our tour manager joked that everywhere closes at 9.30 so that everybody can be in the gym at 6.00 and work at 7.00!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank briers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Spent 3 nights at this centrally located hotel on a North American trip which took us from Boston to Toronto and took my wife back to Ottawa for the first time in 40years.
Ideally situated close to central town and Parliament buildings etc. staff were very helpful with good dining recommendations ,the room was clean and comfortable ,the restaurant was excellent and the gym was very useful to knock the calories off from those big breakfasts.Would stop again and no hesitation in recommending to any friends who may be visiting Ottawa

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GASHEADROVERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I recently returned from Ottawa from Race Weekend and wow what a trip :) We arrived and stayed 3 nights at this hotel....it was beautiful and had everything we needed. Not to mention, it was so close to everything :) My favorite person ever that worked there was THOMAS :) He came to the rescue beyond my expectations ~ I was there to cheer on my hubby for the marathon and needed a bike as we are from the East Coast and flew to Ottawa! Needless to say THOMAS lent me his very chic bike equipped with the best storage bin in the back for my backpack, camera and water! I ended up seeing my husband & friends several times throughout the race and it wouldn't have been close to being possible had I not had that bike from Thomas! It was an amazing experience to watch him run his first marathon and I have only phenomenal things to say about THOMAS :) THANKS FOR MAKING IT HAPPEN!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank curlergirl3133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I was really pleased with my stay at the Indigo. The hotel itself is very pleasant--bright and airy. The front desk staff were always friendly and helpful, without exception. The room was very nice and the cleaning staff did a great job. No view to speak of--just another building, but that often happens. My only complaint would be the Phi restaurant where I had breakfast for three mornings. I was told "breakfast was included" for an extra $15/room. Fine. But you order from a menu and anything over $20 you have to pay for yourself. It's not hard to go over because the prices are steep. Worse still was the service. The wait staff were generally pretty good, but completely understaffed. They had to clear and clean the tables, take the orders, deliver the food, sort out the bill, everything. Always just one person. They always seemed frazzled. The second morning it took nearly an hour to receive "brown sugar crepes." No brown sugar and miniscule--gone in three bites. I was told that the kitchen staff was training someone, but that was no excuse.

In addition, on our last night we decided to splurge on drinks at the Phi. Two glasses of house wine and one draft beer = $35??? I know hotel lounges are expensive, but that's highway robbery.

Bottom line: definitely stay at the Indigo Hotel. Great location, too--about a five minute walk to Parliament Hill. But do NOT pay extra for the breakfast. There's a Starbucks and Tim Horton's just doors away.

Room Tip: Avoid the Phi restaurant/lounge at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DRBinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
199 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#9 of 67 in Ottawa
227 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metcalfe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metcalfe Hotel

Property: The Metcalfe Hotel
Address: 123 Metcalfe St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5L9, Canada (Formerly Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Metcalfe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metcalfe Hotel is a trendy boutique hotel located in downtown Ottawa and is ideal for those traveling for business or pleasure. Discover what our vibrant neighborhood has to offer! While staying at The Metcalfe enjoy our indoor pool, 24 hour fitness centre and complimentary high speed internet. Leisure travelers who are seeking a unique hotel experience can escape to our Ottawa hotel, which is conveniently located near a variety of local attractions. The Metcalfe Hotel, located in the Ottawa City Centre, places you within walking distance of Rideau Canal, the National Arts Centre and Parliament Hill. Our hotel is just minutes from many local parks, outdoor malls and shopping centres. The Metcalfe Hotel is ideal for business travelers since we're located just minutes from companies such as Shopify, Bell Canada and NAV Canada, as well as many government offices and the Shaw Centre. Our hotel in downtown Ottawa is also convenient to the British High Commission, the Ontario Court House and the World Exchange Plaza. Guests of the hotel can enjoy our onsite restaurant, The Rox, where the food is locally sourced and the service is inspiring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Metcalfe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottawa Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing