We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect business hotel”
Review of The Metcalfe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Metcalfe Hotel
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A perfect business hotel”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Overall I was quite pleased with this hotel. Notification of priority club status and upgrades accordingly. The location is central with everything in reach, there is a nice Indian buffet just around the corner which is fairly cheap and has good food. The rooms are nice and spacious with a jacuzzi bath, a very noisy one though. The restaurant is of a good standard but needs a larger menu, the bar has a good selection of tasty beers on offer and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Would I stay again? Without a doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyerstarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo. It is the comments and feedback we receive from our valued guests such as yourself that allows us to continue to improve upon our product and service.

I am happy to read you enjoyed our stay with us from the comfort of the guest room to the friendly staff to our selection of local beers in our bar, Phi.

We will look forward to inviting you back to Hotel Indigo on your next trip to Ottawa!

In hospitality,
Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    456
    143
    37
    17
See reviews for
200
347
59
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

the staff at hotel indigo was very pleasent and the stay was very injoyable.
the food was good in their restarant.be back again

Room Tip: every room is very nice staff was very good .the atrium veuws were very pleasent. i will return...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo on the tripadvisor site. The feedback we receive allows us to continuously improve upon our product and service.

I am so happy to read that you were very happy with your stay with us from the staff to your guest room to the food in our restaurant. I see you enjoyed the atrium views. I love it as well, it is beautiful any time of day or night.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to inviting you back to Hotel Indigo on your next visit to Ottawa.

In hospitality,

Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouverneur, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

By far the greatest part of this Hotel is it's staff. VERY willing to help and offer all kinds of advice. When we asked about places to eat, we were quickly provided a map to all the restaurants within walking distance and coupons for discounts to places we chose. We mentioned we were going to the Senator's hockey game and the lady at the front desk recommended we take the bus out to Kanata instead of drive. She also provided printed out information for where to get on the bus, which bus to take and times the bus would arrive. We are so glad we took the bus and did have to mess with getting out and driving. The rooms were nicely decorated with big comfortable beds with lots of pillows and duvets. Our biggest complaint was it cost $19 PER DAY to park in the garage and the attached Restaurant is expensive with only average food. So far we've only stayed at the Ottawa Marriot and Hotel Indigo, both are nice establishments. Next time we are in Ottawa, we may consider staying here again. This hotel is less than 15 minutes walk from the Rideau Shopping center and Parliament Hill. Elgin Street is close as well as the Peace Tower and tons of places to eat. Location cannot be beat for the price.

Room Tip: Free wired internet. Parking is $19 per day extra. Wireless internet is extra. Shampoos, Conditioner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us at Hotel Indigo. We value and appreciate the comments received from our guests such as yourself.

I was very happy to read that our staff took such good care of you during your stay with us. I hope you enjoyed the Sens game!

Your girlfriend and I have something in common as I love the Aveda products as well! On a side note, we do not charge for our wireless internet, however, it is currently only available in our public spaces with some guests being able to access it in some of our guest rooms. This will be changing this year though as we will be adding wireless internet to all of our guest rooms.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to inviting you back to Hotel Indigo on your next trip to Ottawa.

In hospitality,
Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

The location is great. It's close to Parliament Hill, close to Rideau Centre for shopping, close to the National Arts Centre and close to Elgin Ave and Bank St for restaurants. The restaurant has a small but good menu and the bar has popcorn - perfect for a late-night snack. The employees are outstanding - especially the front desk folks. This is my favourite Ottawa hotel by a country mile.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with Hotel Indigo on the tripadvisor site. We greatly appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests as it allows us to continuously improve upon our product and service. I am thrilled to read that we are your favourite hotel in Ottawa. We strive to provide an inspiring experience for each of our guests and I'm happy to know we have achieved that for you.

And I agree, the popcorn in Phi is a perfect snack! We will look forward to inviting you back in to Hotel Indigo on your next trip to Ottawa.

In hospitality,
Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel back in July 2011. The hotel is not bad. It's clean and the rooms are nicely decorated. However, the rooms are small, the area where it is (right by Parliament Hill) has absolutely nothing to do after 5 pm (other than going to the parliament). There isn't even a convenience store nearby should you feel the need to get a bottle of water after dark. Parking was extremely expensive as well. Hotel staff were nice though. Oh, and Wifi access is spotty unless you are in the main lobby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay with Hotel Indigo in July 2011. The comments we receive from our guests allows us to continuously improve upon our product and services. I was pleased to read that you found our rooms to be clean and our staff were nice however I am very sorry you did not get to experience our neighborhood to it's fullest. Although we are in the midst of the financial district with many businesses closing at 5pm, we are just one block away from Elgin Street where there are many restaurants and bars to choose from and just a 10 minute walk from the hotel will bring you to the Rideau Shopping Centre and the Byward Market. My hope is you will provide us with the opportunity to welcome you back and allow our staff to prepare for you a pesonalized tour of our wonderful neighborhood!

In hospitality,

Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times in the past on business trips and continue to revisit as I find the atmosphere relaxing. The lighting at Hotel Indigo is one feature you never truly appreciate until you've stayed at different hotels with their forced lighting. Hotel Indigo has subtle yet effective lighting, soft textures and clean lines throughout. If you need to relax after a long day the rooms are spacious enough to enjoy them with arm chairs and king sized beds. The bathrooms are large with jacuzzi bath tubs and glass showers, and feature Aveda products - just the thing to unwind a tired mind.
The hotel is located fairly close to all the downtown feature of Ottawa, but is about 10 minutes walk to the market district - too far if it's minus 20 outside!
I've stayed at Arc, Sherton, Westin, Lord Elgin etc. in Ottawa, yet Indigo is my favourite.

Room Tip: King Sized rooms offer your best value for room size
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kodiaknfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo during your recent trip to Ottawa and for taking the time to write about your stay with us. The feedback we receive from our guests is invaluable and we so appreciate receiving it.

Our goal is for our guests to feel comfortable and relaxed and I'm so happy that we are able to achieve that for you. And I am thrilled to read that Hotel Indigo is your favourite hotel in downtown Ottawa - mine too!

I hope you weathered the cold okay while you were here and we look forward to inviting you back!

In hospitality,

Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We wanted to spend one night in Ottawa and we have chosen for Indigo Hotel. The location is very good for visiting purposes: 5 min walk to the Parliament or the restaurant area. Also the rooms are ok in size and equipment/furniture, but half of them (including mine) have no outside windows (the windows lead to the interior hallway of the hotel).

The bad experience however started when we wanted to check in: they have asked for 350 CAD guarantee although we were spending 1 night and the room was already paid for. I hate to give my credit card for this as they block the money for 1 month. Therefore I wanted to pay in cash but I found the amount ridiculous high (at Marriott chain for example it is about 100 USD to cover the possible extras). Their ATM (from the lobby) was not working, it was night and heavily raining outside and I was coming from a long trip by car. I have told the receptionist that we have around 200 CAD cash and ask her to take this as a guarantee. Now she became very rude and refused to check us in, clearly stating: "I am checking you in if you don't give me 350 CAD guarantee. These are the policies". I said that I would like to check in, then go out to dinner and give her the 150 difference when I come back. She still refused rudely. Therefore, I had to walk out in the heavy rain to find an ATM.

Of course, 8 hours later, she gave the guarantee back so all was for nothing.

Concluding, if you want to stay in the center of Ottawa, but be treated disrespectful and like a criminal, Indigo is for you. If you like to be treated like a customer (for a 150 USD hotel room) try another hotel.

I will not stay here again, as their policies are stupid and the staff I met is rude and inflexible.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bvcbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo during your recent trip to Ottawa and for providing your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is the feedback we receive from our guests that allows us to continuously improve upon the product and services.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory experience you had while checking into the hotel. Although it is our policy, as it is at most hotels, to obtain a deposit at checkin either through a credit card authorization or a cash deposit it sounds like your situation could have been handled in a very different manner. We will conduct training with our staff to review alternate options and solutions for these types of situations.

I would be happy to discuss your situation with you in more detail should you wish to contact me directly at the hotel by phone or by email.

Again, please accept my sincere apologies.

In hospitality,

Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#7 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#9 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metcalfe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metcalfe Hotel

Property: The Metcalfe Hotel
Address: 123 Metcalfe St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5L9, Canada (Formerly Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Metcalfe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metcalfe Hotel is a trendy boutique hotel located in downtown Ottawa and is ideal for those traveling for business or pleasure. Discover what our vibrant neighborhood has to offer! While staying at The Metcalfe enjoy our indoor pool, 24 hour fitness centre and complimentary high speed internet. Leisure travelers who are seeking a unique hotel experience can escape to our Ottawa hotel, which is conveniently located near a variety of local attractions. The Metcalfe Hotel, located in the Ottawa City Centre, places you within walking distance of Rideau Canal, the National Arts Centre and Parliament Hill. Our hotel is just minutes from many local parks, outdoor malls and shopping centres. The Metcalfe Hotel is ideal for business travelers since we're located just minutes from companies such as Shopify, Bell Canada and NAV Canada, as well as many government offices and the Shaw Centre. Our hotel in downtown Ottawa is also convenient to the British High Commission, the Ontario Court House and the World Exchange Plaza. Guests of the hotel can enjoy our onsite restaurant, The Rox, where the food is locally sourced and the service is inspiring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Metcalfe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottawa Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing