We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming and friendly boutique hotel”
Review of The Metcalfe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Metcalfe Hotel
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A charming and friendly boutique hotel”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I was in Ottawa for a business trip last month, and I decided to stay at Hotel Indigo due to its location and exceptional reviews. My domestic flight from Vancouver was delayed, so I didn't arrive at the hotel until 2am. I was totally exhausted, and the last thing I wanted at that time was a cumbersome check-in. Fortunately, I was greeted by a friendly receptionist named Randy, who was very efficient and well prepared. He placed me in a room on the lower level, which had better WiFi reception. The room was not very big, but it was clean and tidy. I agree with the previous review that the hotel could have done something with the closet door and perhaps with some of the lightings. I should confess that the WiFi was not fantastic, but there was internet cable available for my laptop. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Indigo, and I would certainly stay at this hotel again when I next visit Ottawa.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tse Wing Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo08, General Manager at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you for choosing Hotel Indigo for your recent stay in Ottawa and for taking the time to write about your experience on Tripadvisor. The feedback received from our guests is invaluable to us.

I am so pleased Randy made you feel so welcome after a long trip here from Vancouver. He is certainly one of our stars and we made sure he saw your comments.

With regards to the internet reception, we currently only have wired internet in our guest rooms with wireless in the public spaces. We are looking at changing this in 2012 so keep an eye out for that change.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to inviting you back to Hotel Indigo on your next trip to Ottawa.

In hospitality,

Kim Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    478
    151
    38
    18
See reviews for
211
369
64
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The hotel is in downtown Ottawa in the business district. I was there for 5+ days in a king sized room. This is my 3rd Hotel Indigo stay in ~ 2yrs across the US.

Pros:
* Excellent location if you want to be downtown or close to the Canadian parliament.
* Decent proximity to many eateries [still a 15+ minute walk], shopping areas, etc.
* Friendly staff
* Wired internet in rooms [was included in price for me]
* Phone was decent enough for long conference calls.
* The closet space is decent and bathroom is nice [shower was very sensitive and could go from luke-warm to scalding in a minute turn!!]
* Underground parking keeps your car clean and warm in winter.

Cons:
* The room I got was ** tiny ** by most standards. There was barely any space in the room with a king bed, table and drawers. Perhaps the double bed rooms are better but these were tiny. I spent quite some time in the room and found it a bit claustrophobic after some time.

* Wired internet?!! In a business hotel and in the area [and this era], this is just plain silly. If you have a tablet, etc. that can connect only via wifi, then you are out of luck or need to go to the lobby. I found this to be the biggest nuisance and would not return just for this.

* They forgot a wake-up call I'd set up one morning. Luckily the room had a decent clock [that for a change was easy to set up]. Still, not good.

* While location is convenient if you need to go nearby [and buses to other areas abound], the area is relatively dead during the weekends in winter. You will need to walk 15-30 min to come to an area with enough restaurants to meet all tastes & budgets. Nothing really close.

* Cleaning staff can be pretty noisy between 9 am -- 8pm. They need to get it done by 5.30pm if you ask me. Can become a pain when you are trying to work, talk on phone or relax.

* Parking costs are ~ CAD 20/day --> pretty steep but not unusual compared to other hotels in the area.

* Even local calls can cost you money; check to see if you are going to be charged or not [Pririty club members get it free]

Overall: I give it average due to location but was sorely disappointed with the room and the internet amenities in it. Subpar compared to my other Hotel Indigo stays.

Room Tip: They have started cleaning the atrium in December 2011 [not sure when it gets done]; make sure you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atulrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at The Metcalfe Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Dear Atulrr,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Hotel Indigo Ottawa. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We take all feedback seriously and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. I have taken note. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Respectfully,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Forest, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Indigo in Ottawa last week. I loved it. If Ikea had a hotel this would be it. Bright colors, funky decor in rooms, no wall to wall carpet....it was fresh and clean. They have a great little cafe in the lobby. Breakfast was great and very inexpensive. They also serve Starbucks coffee. Free WiFi.
I will use this hotel from now on when I am in Ottawa for either business or leisure travel. The location was great too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

One night at the Indigo was pleasant but the hotel has a lot more potential then it delivered. It was clean, quiet, with good service, but the lobby's beauty doesn't quite translate in the rooms. My room was on the second floor right above the main entrance and it felt a bit like I was right on the street especially with the flags waving in the wind just outside my window. The room was nicely decorated but the bathroom was tiny and cramped. It seemed like they decided to save some renovation money and kept the bathroom and closet doors as it. They should have been changed to allow more space and to modernize the place. The shower has a nice glass enclosure but the set up for the controls get you soaked with cold water as you try to set the temperature. One thing that always bugs me -- $3 for the bottle of water they have set out on an inviting tray. I'm a priority club member and stay at IHG properties all the time...do they really need to nickle and dime me for a $3 bottle of warm water? I'll try the Westin next time.

Room Tip: Not too many restaurants around here. Try Colonnade Pizza about 5 blocks down the street. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCmike2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

What I like about the Indigo is that you get all the things you want/expect from a major chain (which Indigo is, it's part of the IC Group), ie highest standard of cleanliness, modern rooms, and a nice feeling of a boutique hotel (the hotel has an interesting interior atrium design, and a hip/cool feel.

Only issue is spotty wifi - ask for a lower floor room abutting the atrium if in-room wifi is important.

Tip - there is interior access to the Tim Horton's on Laurier (you need to go up the escalators in the lobby, go across into the next building, then back down). This is very useful, especially in the winter.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ensco3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Great hotel in Ottawa. Nice location, nicely decorated. Very comfortable place to stay. Some rooms are better than others, and bigger. Try for a room with the jacuzzi tub if possible, as some rooms have only showers.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed at the Indigo from November 17-20, 2011 and had a pleasant experience. We booked and pre-paid through an Ottawa Tourism "stay 2, get the 3rd 1/2 price" offer and pre-purchased tickets for the Museum of Civilization in Hull and the Museum of Nature. The hotel is very conveniently located on Metcalfe a few short blocks away from Parliament Hill, the Museum of Nature, the Rideau Centre, and was close enough that we walked to the Museum of Civilization along the Alexandra Bridge into Hull. The hotel is small, but comfortable with a nice lobby, and really pleasant and helpful front desk staff and housekeeping. We felt comfortable and welcome during our whole stay. We recommend Ahora, a tiny mexican restaurant in Byward Market and the Elgin Street Diner for a traditional greasy spoon experience. My daughter enjoyed visiting the boutique at the Mint, where she purchased a number of coins for her collection and held onto the $750K gold bar for a picture. We were also surprised to learn that the Santa Claus Parade was taking place on Saturday evening and happened to come along Laurier right where the Indigo was located! That was a bonus experience we didn't expect. Oh, and plenty of Starbucks in the neighbourhood for those Java seekers!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haggis678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#7 of 67 in Ottawa
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
ARC The Hotel
ARC The Hotel
#23 of 67 in Ottawa
1,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alt Hotel Ottawa
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 67 in Ottawa
750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metcalfe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metcalfe Hotel

Property: The Metcalfe Hotel
Address: 123 Metcalfe St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5L9, Canada (Formerly Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Metcalfe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metcalfe Hotel is a trendy boutique hotel located in downtown Ottawa and is ideal for those traveling for business or pleasure. Discover what our vibrant neighborhood has to offer! While staying at The Metcalfe enjoy our indoor pool, 24 hour fitness centre and complimentary high speed internet. Leisure travelers who are seeking a unique hotel experience can escape to our Ottawa hotel, which is conveniently located near a variety of local attractions. The Metcalfe Hotel, located in the Ottawa City Centre, places you within walking distance of Rideau Canal, the National Arts Centre and Parliament Hill. Our hotel is just minutes from many local parks, outdoor malls and shopping centres. The Metcalfe Hotel is ideal for business travelers since we're located just minutes from companies such as Shopify, Bell Canada and NAV Canada, as well as many government offices and the Shaw Centre. Our hotel in downtown Ottawa is also convenient to the British High Commission, the Ontario Court House and the World Exchange Plaza. Guests of the hotel can enjoy our onsite restaurant, The Rox, where the food is locally sourced and the service is inspiring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Metcalfe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottawa Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing