We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshing Hotel”
Review of The Metcalfe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Metcalfe Hotel
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Forest, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A refreshing Hotel”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Indigo in Ottawa last week. I loved it. If Ikea had a hotel this would be it. Bright colors, funky decor in rooms, no wall to wall carpet....it was fresh and clean. They have a great little cafe in the lobby. Breakfast was great and very inexpensive. They also serve Starbucks coffee. Free WiFi.
I will use this hotel from now on when I am in Ottawa for either business or leisure travel. The location was great too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    466
    145
    37
    17
See reviews for
203
353
64
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

One night at the Indigo was pleasant but the hotel has a lot more potential then it delivered. It was clean, quiet, with good service, but the lobby's beauty doesn't quite translate in the rooms. My room was on the second floor right above the main entrance and it felt a bit like I was right on the street especially with the flags waving in the wind just outside my window. The room was nicely decorated but the bathroom was tiny and cramped. It seemed like they decided to save some renovation money and kept the bathroom and closet doors as it. They should have been changed to allow more space and to modernize the place. The shower has a nice glass enclosure but the set up for the controls get you soaked with cold water as you try to set the temperature. One thing that always bugs me -- $3 for the bottle of water they have set out on an inviting tray. I'm a priority club member and stay at IHG properties all the time...do they really need to nickle and dime me for a $3 bottle of warm water? I'll try the Westin next time.

Room Tip: Not too many restaurants around here. Try Colonnade Pizza about 5 blocks down the street. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCmike2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

What I like about the Indigo is that you get all the things you want/expect from a major chain (which Indigo is, it's part of the IC Group), ie highest standard of cleanliness, modern rooms, and a nice feeling of a boutique hotel (the hotel has an interesting interior atrium design, and a hip/cool feel.

Only issue is spotty wifi - ask for a lower floor room abutting the atrium if in-room wifi is important.

Tip - there is interior access to the Tim Horton's on Laurier (you need to go up the escalators in the lobby, go across into the next building, then back down). This is very useful, especially in the winter.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ensco3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Great hotel in Ottawa. Nice location, nicely decorated. Very comfortable place to stay. Some rooms are better than others, and bigger. Try for a room with the jacuzzi tub if possible, as some rooms have only showers.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
168 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed at the Indigo from November 17-20, 2011 and had a pleasant experience. We booked and pre-paid through an Ottawa Tourism "stay 2, get the 3rd 1/2 price" offer and pre-purchased tickets for the Museum of Civilization in Hull and the Museum of Nature. The hotel is very conveniently located on Metcalfe a few short blocks away from Parliament Hill, the Museum of Nature, the Rideau Centre, and was close enough that we walked to the Museum of Civilization along the Alexandra Bridge into Hull. The hotel is small, but comfortable with a nice lobby, and really pleasant and helpful front desk staff and housekeeping. We felt comfortable and welcome during our whole stay. We recommend Ahora, a tiny mexican restaurant in Byward Market and the Elgin Street Diner for a traditional greasy spoon experience. My daughter enjoyed visiting the boutique at the Mint, where she purchased a number of coins for her collection and held onto the $750K gold bar for a picture. We were also surprised to learn that the Santa Claus Parade was taking place on Saturday evening and happened to come along Laurier right where the Indigo was located! That was a bonus experience we didn't expect. Oh, and plenty of Starbucks in the neighbourhood for those Java seekers!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haggis678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed at the indigo during a weekend conference. Let's start with the good. The room was nice, the bed confortable and the property was well maintained with a central location.

The not so good: Parking is expensive, hard to find and really a major drawback. The room was TINY even by my standards. You would think you were in NYC the room was sooooo small. I had food from the restaurant. Cesar salad and onion soup, it was good but the salad could have been fresher.

An Ok stay, but somewhat disappointing. would have expected a bit more.

Room Tip: If possible Upgrade to a bigger room, far from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthewBarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

My running friend and I stayed at the Indigo for the Ottawa Marathon, May 2011. It was just over a block from the start line which is incredibly convenient and exciting too. The walk to the Parliament Buildings, Byward Market and the Rideau Centre were really a mere stroll. Parking was a bit inconvenient - if you need to access your car constantly you might find alternate parking (I don't know where) because their parking garage is below the adjacent hotel and is a long walk if you are carrying anything. Also, the parking garage was kind of creepy for a female alone.
Our room had all of the amenities we needed, a comfy bed, beautiful bathroom (no tub though) and was quiet in the night (we did not face the street). The shampoos and soaps were AVEDA which is lovely. There was no view but we weren't in the room for a view. The quarters are tight though, so if you need a lot of spreading out room you might need a suite. We added a cot because we both needed a good sleep for the race which added to the tightness.
We did use the pool and the excercise room. The pool is shallow but I guess if you needed to swim lengths it would work. The excercise room had a few machines. We needed the space to do a proper stretch so we weren't really accessing the machines.
Overall a very nice place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmcOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
196 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#9 of 67 in Ottawa
227 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metcalfe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metcalfe Hotel

Property: The Metcalfe Hotel
Address: 123 Metcalfe St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5L9, Canada (Formerly Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Metcalfe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metcalfe Hotel is a trendy boutique hotel located in downtown Ottawa and is ideal for those traveling for business or pleasure. Discover what our vibrant neighborhood has to offer! While staying at The Metcalfe enjoy our indoor pool, 24 hour fitness centre and complimentary high speed internet. Leisure travelers who are seeking a unique hotel experience can escape to our Ottawa hotel, which is conveniently located near a variety of local attractions. The Metcalfe Hotel, located in the Ottawa City Centre, places you within walking distance of Rideau Canal, the National Arts Centre and Parliament Hill. Our hotel is just minutes from many local parks, outdoor malls and shopping centres. The Metcalfe Hotel is ideal for business travelers since we're located just minutes from companies such as Shopify, Bell Canada and NAV Canada, as well as many government offices and the Shaw Centre. Our hotel in downtown Ottawa is also convenient to the British High Commission, the Ontario Court House and the World Exchange Plaza. Guests of the hotel can enjoy our onsite restaurant, The Rox, where the food is locally sourced and the service is inspiring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Metcalfe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottawa Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing