We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avalon Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 54 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B experience”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and 14 year old son stayed at the Avalon B&B for 4 nights over Canada Day. Christine was a perfectly charming host. She provided us with great restaurant advice, yummy breakfasts all at a super location.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    27
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
123
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Il
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were in Ottawa for our granddaughter's high school graduation. The Avalon was recommended by the owner of a B&B where we had stayed previously (the owner had closed the B&B). We were here for three nights. Our room, The Pewter, was large and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the street. It is a 15 minute walk to the Byward Market and about a 20 minute walk to the Ottawa art museum. Christine is a gracious host who goes out of her way to recommend places to eat and walk. We were not disappointed in the restaurant she recommended. We chose the Avalon because it is near Rockcliffe Park where our son and family live. My husband ate the cooked breakfasts and had no complaints. I only eat yogurt and fruit for breakfast. The fruit was fresh and plentiful. Christine couldn't have been more accommodating, ordered our taxi for the last day's departure. We would stay here again if our son wasn't moving from Ottawa.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed overnight. While the location was not the very best and the room was not very bright, the host was absolutely great.. she had great suggestions on what to do and where to grab a bite to eat. The pancakes for breakfast were great as well

Room Tip: The sable room is kinda dark!... the window opens onto the window of the house next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiri0082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here 5 nights during a visit to Ottawa. The brick house is beautifully restored, and our room was large and very nice. Christine's breakfasts were large and so tasty! The place was very clean and we had everything we needed.

Christine also gave us lots of information about places to eat and things to see.
It is about a 25 minute walk to Parliament Hill, through nice quiet streets, and the Byward Market is on the way.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissRB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The Avalon Bed & Breakfast is a charming old house in Ottawa. We stayed there 3 nights and enjoyed the room and the wonderful breakfasts. Christina is a super nice and helpful hostess. She gave us several places to eat and explore in the city and how to get there via a map.

The room we stayed in was spacious with a contemporary design that fit in with the age of the home. Plus, we had a spacious bathroom in our room. And there was a little refrigerator right outside our room to use if we needed.

We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This was actually the first B&B we stayed at based on information primarily from tripadvisor.com. We were thoroughly happy with this B&B - it was cozy like home, yet luxurious like one of the finest B&B's. Everything in the house is elegant - this is done by making the house modern while keeping just enough of the old construction to provide character.

Christine is very competent as a chef - her breakfasts are delicious - our first day was blueberry pancakes and the second day was a hearty scrambled egg & home fries. Both gave us the energy to explore this wonderful city of Ottawa. Christine also gave us a map on the day we arrived and she carefully showed us all the best places to eat nearby (which we tried - the Shawarma king was excellent). Also she informed us of the best points of interests to take a look at in town. We felt we were in very good hands with Christine helping us with everything.

The room is fantastic - we stayed in the Sable room and it was also luxurious with full ensuite bath and queen sized bed. Of course the entire house is perfectly clean.

Parking worked out well too - you can park on the street at night or use a nearby contracted lot.

I would be amazed if anyone could find a single valid complaint about this B&B. I wouldn't want to even look for a different place if we come back to visit Ottawa.

Enjoy your visit!

Room Tip: Sable room is excellent for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevesK1763SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Wonderful place to stay. Centrally located and easy walking distance to downtown. Room was spotless and nicely furnished. Breakfast excellent. Our host was very friendly and did a great job. Would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Pewter Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormanR290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
ByWard Blue Inn
#16 of 67 in Ottawa
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Bed & Breakfast

Property: Avalon Bed & Breakfast
Address: 539 Besserer St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6C6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn of the century charm, modern decor, delicious breakfast and great service all within a 15-20 min walk to the Rideau Canal, Parliament buildings, and the ByWard Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Avalon Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing