We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Currently unavailable to see”

National War Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.48*
and up
Ottawa City Tour by Land and Water
Ranked #10 of 266 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Currently unavailable to see”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I am not sure what they are doing to this that requires a full wall built around it taking it out of view. Shame to miss it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kareika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    151
    41
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Remembering”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were actually there on Remembrance Day and the ceremony was amazing. We got to place our poppies and look at the names. We watched the ceremonies and the cannon shooting and the soldiers marching by, many in wheelchairs or walkers. It was a proud time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Confirmed closed”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Yes, this place is going through some major renovation. You can still see the big statue over the wall from a little distance.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielHenrysson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“National War Memorial is Closed”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Unfortunately like many of the Ottawa Capital, the war memorial is currently closed due to construction. National action Plan I suppose?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LloydminsterCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The reason we can walk freely and talk freely”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stop by the National War Memorial. For most of us, because of the sacrifices of so many, we can freely express our thought and beliefs without being persecuted. The memorial is a great place to sit and contemplate. Grab a coffee and sit and watch the world go by!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buzzus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National War Memorial also viewed

 

Been to National War Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing