We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must-See”

National War Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.50*
and up
Ottawa City Tour by Land and Water
Ranked #10 of 257 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A Must-See”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

For anyone with a military connection, and/or who values the lifestyle we have today, making a pilgrimage to this spot is mandatory. Find one of your poppies from last November's Remembrance Day, and leave it as a token of thanks. But, parents please instruct your children this memorial is NOT A PLAYGROUND - DO NOT CRAWL ALL OVER THE MONUMENT; AND ESPECIALLY, DON'T WALK OR SIT ON THE TOMB OF THE UNKNOWN SOLDIER. This arouses the ire of every veteran, and many others, who expect that appropriately respectful behavior occurs at this memorial site.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank zubill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    149
    40
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lots of interesting things to see and learn about!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I thought it would be depressing to see the war stuff, but it was educational and reverent at the same time. I took my elderly father there and even he enjoyed it, with all the large machines and trucks.

Helpful?
1 Thank CdnBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Accessible War Memmorial”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This War Memmorial is very wheelchair accessible for the old and the new soldiers compared to the War Memmorial called the Cenotaph in Peterborough, Ontario, both done by the same sculptor who also did the Vimy Ridge Memmorial. This Memmorial is shown on televisions across the country of Canada every November 11 at 11 oçlock to show our respects for the soldiers who have died fighting originally in WW1, WW2 & the Korean War but now respects every Canadian soldier who has died either in a Peace Mission or War after the Korean War.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“War Memorial”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A beautiful tribute. You should take the time to walk by this statue. Good for a picture as well. Very nice.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Memorial”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had the good fortune of seeing this beautiful memorial at night and I was lucky enough to bring my camera so we got wonderful pictures with no crowds and a light snow had started to fall that night. Simply beautiful.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rizfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National War Memorial also viewed

 

Been to National War Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing