We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Devon.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2008

The perfect home from home. This is an absolutely fab bed and breakfast. The beds are extremely comfortable and the Maple room is gorgeous. Paul and Cynthia make you feel really welcome and helped us from the moment we booked. As mentioned in other reviews thae baking is amazing. I'm sure the smell is piped through the air conditioning. A wonderful smell to wake up to. We would definately recommend it.
K and M, Devon UK

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjs1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
28
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

We highly recommend this B&B
The hosts Cynthia and Paul where very gracious. "Gotta love the homemade cookies in the Study". A wonderful collection of art.. A very delicious breakfast, with elk sausage and maple syrup. Thanks for tracking down Len, after he forgot his shaving kit. Imagine finding us at Montana's. That's why we like to stay in B&Bs, they go the extra mile. Thank you Len & Sandy, Alberta

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

Cynthia and Paul have a lovely home that they keep scrupulously clean and comfortable. Cynthia puts on lovely and interesting breakfasts, is full of good advice and bends over backwards to help with all the things that a visitor to Ottawa might need. There are all kinds of little surprises and treats in store too (even a home made cookie jar if you need a late night snack).

A real gem of a B&B at a bargain price.

  • Liked — Helpfulness of the hosts
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AnAlbertaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seba Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2006

Alberta Visitors - My wife & I enjoyed our stay at Shirley Samantha's as the owner Cynthia lives on site & was very helpful. Our room was very clean, comfortable & bright. & the food was delicious & varied daily. It was within walking distance of the major attractions & easy to locate. Definetly a bargin in Ottawa.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G&STouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2006

Its not just the the lovely home and room that made our visit so wonderful. It was the care our host and hostess took to make sure we were comfortable. Turkish robes in our rooms to wear, CDs next to the player for quiet sleeping music, bus tickets available. But the most amazing thing was the breakfasts to start our day. The hostess is a gourmet, and conjures up a delicious, wholesome meal which satisfies. If the weather is nice, we sat outside in her beautiful yard.

The house is a 10 minute bus ride to the downtown area. The bus stop is just down the street. Also near the house is a lovely park on the Rideau Canal, lovely for walking or picnicing. I'd higly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ash067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Courtyard Ottawa East
#13 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 28 Carlotta Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario K1L 6S6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be warmly welcomed to our traditional home, furnished with a mix of antique and contemporary pieces, accented with the work of Canadian artists and artisans. We are located on a quiet street, within walking distance of downtown, close to public transportation and half a block from the Rideau River Cycling Path. Delicious breakfasts featuring local produce and home baking are served in the formal dining room or on the deck, under the maple tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing