We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a beautiful place to stay, you feel really at home, but very well looked after, too. Lovely touches like the free soft drinks and home made cookies, and the breakfast was beautiful. Cynthia also gave us great advice on a route to Quebec City, avoiding Montreal which was greatly appreciated. Fantastic value for money, and I would definitely recommend a stay here. Thanks, Cynthia and Paul!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiteywhitey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 59 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just got back yesterday and the reviews were right! Spotless accomodations, helpful but not in any way intrusive owners (Cynthia and Paul) excellent breakfast and refreshments are all in store. It's quiet and welcoming, its easy to navigate to the Center of town from here on foot (about 2 km) but quick by car, taxi or bike, yet you sleep without any noise! Comfortable bedding, practical and functional bath and shower and a nice library with small refrigerator and cookies and beverage choices. Lot's of local choices nearby, recommend Louis' Pizza if you want some good Italian fare. This is a solid value and quality all the way around.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

It is hard to find kindhearted people but Cynthia, the manager of this B&B is one of them. Very warm welcome in a family friendly house with a deligtful breakfast is waht we got in Ottawa. Nice, clean (should say spotles) room with complementary drinks and comfortable bed. Walking distance to Parlament house and War Memorial Museum. Car park included. What more do you need? More time to stay there. Highly recomended for B&B lovers and people who are sick and tired of big, loud hotels.

Room Tip: We always choose one with the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnJAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Never really wanting to stay in a city this B&B had a lovely welcoming feel and great facilities. We walked into and back to the main centre and loved the markets. Our room overooked the
back garden and we loved seeing the squirrels flit along the tree branches. Our host did offer us bus tickets but we love to walk. Breakfast was amazing and I have tried to replicate but not with such success. The only thing I would have liked was two chairs in our bedroom rather than just one. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highlight24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I stay for two nights in October and loved it! Breakfast was served with the elegance of an evening meal, complete with candles!

The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the linens were so lovely that we found the label and then went looking for them in the shops.

It's a short walk to all of the tourist sites and it's across the street from the walking/biking trail along the river - so we had a wonderful time enjoying that. We also loved the conversations we had over breakfast with the other guests.

We highly recommend Shirley Samantha's if you want elegant, convenient comfort and warm, knowledgeable hospitality in Ottawa.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Explorers_Rest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Gorgeous little b&b. Cynthia & Paul are wonderful hosts and have gone a long way to make this place special with a lot of those little extras. Homemade cookies and soft drinks from a fridge. A study full of books for reading. Bath robes to wear when using the bathroom. Tea served from a variety of china teapots and china cups. Even a suitcase rack to stand our cases on rather than the floor.
Our bedroom was decorated in a lovely way with character furniture as was the the whole house. Everywhere was very clean.
If there is one thing you will remember this little b&b is the breakfast. I am not going to say too much but everyday was different and truly scrumptious.
Location wise we were about 1/2 hour walk to the city centre or a short bus ride. There are some lovely walks along the river or canal, bike rides as well.

I would definitely recommend you stay here. Cynthia & Paul are a lovely couple and have a lovely b&b

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LollyPops57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Gorgeous place to stay, lot's of interesting arty craft around the house. We had a lovely big room, easy chair, bathroom with all you could want provided. There is also a study with books and info, plus fridge you can use. Also glasses and home made cookies. Full supermarket close buy. The breakfast Cynthia put's on is unreal, many courses of very yummy food. Teapot and china changes daily so always a supprise. Check out the beautiful chandalier lamp over the table, you will recognise more and more each time you look. Don't want to say what's it's made of as will spoil it for you. Cynthia is a very helpful kind and gentle lady, and very happy to help find solutions to anything. We truely loved it here and would highly recommend if you want lovely surroundings, yummy food and excellent location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank almya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Ambassador B&B
#23 of 53 in Ottawa
26 reviews
Rideau Inn
#10 of 53 in Ottawa
64 reviews
Avalon Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 53 in Ottawa
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Glebe / Dow's Lake
Angela's Bed & Breakfast Ottawa
KC's Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Vars
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Samantha's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 28 Carlotta Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1L 6S6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range: $68 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be warmly welcomed to our traditional home, furnished with a mix of antique and contemporary pieces, accented with the work of Canadian artists and artisans. We are located on a quiet street, within walking distance of downtown, close to public transportation and half a block from the Rideau River Cycling Path. Delicious breakfasts featuring local produce and home baking are served in the formal dining room or on the deck, under the maple tree. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing