We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yakimusicman”
Review of Fu River Buffet - CLOSED

Fu River Buffet
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“yakimusicman”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Was in a hurry and came in for a quick lunch with low expectations. Wow! What a pleasant surprise. Good selection, everything hot, fish in black bean sauce was very good, everything was fresh, veggies crunchy not overcooked, decent sushi choices as well as dim sum. Good value.
Will definitely return

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
279 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Exactly the same as Panda Garden”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My friends got my expectation too high and I went to try this place because of the high reviews.

Food: The food selection seemed to be almost identical as Panda Garden Buffet in Kanata. Mussels, onion rings, fried rice, sushi, chicken balls, chicken skewers, some tempura vegetables, fish, soups, ice cream, a lot of fried stuff, etc. Certainly much better than the disastrous Mosaic Buffet.

Atmosphere: looks like newer carpet but everything else seems to be the same as it's always been in this location.

Price: You can't go wrong for lunch buffet price around $10 but I went on a weekend so it was around $15 including tax.

Service: Quick and they speak English (unlike Panda)

Overall: I would return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Fresh Clean Spacious Buffet”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Happy that this venue finally has a GOOD set of owners, since about OCT 2013. They also have a restaurant or more in Toronto. Experience shows.

Quite a few fish choices for our omega-3 buffers! Mostly fresh, and we were at the end of the lunch day. Wide variety of dumplings & shrimp.

6 Flavours of ice cream, including mango. 2 Other sections of desserts, yum.

Price each with Chinese tea was $11.70 before 13% HST, excellent quality & value. We look forward to returning & referring others there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denzfein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouffville Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic!! ”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This was the best Chinese meal I have had since moving here! We will be back!! Everything was fresh and delicious. I don't have a bad thing to say about this place. The staff was excellent and very attentive.
The link to the website on this site is broken but you can google it.

Helpful?
1 Thank MJ7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Buffet”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This location has had several different tenants, and THIS one is by far the best! We have been here tweice under the new ownership, and both times the service has been impeccable. The buffet selection was excellent and the quality was very good. You could tell that they were constantly being prepared and replenished. They also had a very nice selection of desserts. (one note: the almond cookies could be moister with a peeled almond in the centre!).

Overall, this restaurant is among the best Chinese Buffet-style restaurants I've had the pleasure of visiting..........Quality, Service, and Value!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank druthemole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fu River Buffet also viewed

Stittsville, Ottawa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing