We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Keeper on the Ottawa Dining Scene” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Das Lokal

Das Lokal
Ranked #94 of 2,709 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: European, Canadian, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Das Lokal, located at 190 Dalhousie, Ottawa, just a 2 min walk from the Byward Market. We are an international restaurant with with a German twist. Locally sourced ingredients, proudly prepared in-house. Seasonal menus and drinks inspired by our staffs love for food and wine.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
277 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A Keeper on the Ottawa Dining Scene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Das Lokal tries to be German and pulls it off but it is so much more.

Great food, a well thought out wine list and notable service.

Yes there is a stag’s head above the piano and absolutely to die for spaetzle but it pretty much ends there.

We shared the spaetzle as an appetizer and it was outstanding; fried with root vegetables and done to a perfect crusty delicious mix.

Next came the house gravlax again superb, complemented with German black bread, great salad and a sweet and spicy aioli.

The pickerel was delicious done with baby potatoes and a gentle vinaigrette.

Desert is simple, panna cotta, apple tartelette and German black forest ice cream cake. We tried the first two and left the third for when we come back. Both were delicious, done with care, creativity and an absolutely great ending to what was a way above average lunch.

It is an open kitchen, long bar, seats with furry cushions, happening small space and it all works quite well.

We arrived for lunch without reservations. Absolutely not a good idea - call ahead. This is a popular place.

This restaurant is a keeper. It is up there with the Fraser Brothers and Play. The whole experience is scrumptious and leaves you humming and smiling as you leave.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank IntSommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    44
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
390 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Das Lokal is a new German/central European-themed restaurant on the edges of downtown Ottawa, particularly well-located for people working at the main foreign ministry building. The first impressions are good; it's a relatively small space, with perhaps 20 simple wooden tables on two levels and an additional eight seats at the bar. One reason I liked the feel of the place is that (unlike so many other restaurants) the illumination is excellent. The main lights are kept fairly low and on each table there is a large orange candle. The restaurant is clearly popular - people were being turned away all night - and even when all the tables were full the noise wasn't too great. So five out of five for warm atmosphere, particularly when the snow is swirling outside.

The food was good, although it could do with a few tweaks (the mark-ups on the wine are high and the cheapest white was a so-so chardonnay at $39 Canadian). To start my wife had the gravad lax, which was subtly flavoured, while I had a great corn soup. We both had the pickerel as a main course and while the fish was excellent, it came with warm green beans and a cold potato salad and the mixture of temperatures was a tad unsettling. For dessert we both had a deconstructed apple tart which came in the form of sliced apples and a crisp circle of pastry. My wife really liked it although I found it a bit bland.

All in all, we were impressed, and the bill for two (including wine) was under $150 Canadian. We'll certainly be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Faience44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

My colleagues and I visited Das Lokal for a work lunch the week it opened. The food is very good and the atmosphere is friendly and warm. I had the salmon gravlax with soup, it was delicious!
I loved it so much I took my husband there the next day for dinner (he had the rabbit and I had the squash rosti, both very good.)
They have a lot of thoughtful details that I appreciated, like the personal bodum for tea, the locally purchased candles and the REAL fabric napkins. They even have piano entertainment on some nights.
The decor is trendy and clean and I would recommend this as a fair priced restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexis042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
429 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Great Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great design the restaurant feels small and cozy, the decor is rustic yet really inviting. All the chairs are covered in white soft fur. There is a perfect seating area outside complete with fireplace

The soup of the day was superb as was the tartelette, plenty of interesting textures and complimentary flavours. you felt satisfied but not full. The Gravlax Terrine was very nice and perfectly toasted. The presentation of all of the food was very nice.

Overall excellent food and amazing value, but the noise level does creep up and makes conversation a bit hard

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Bomberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Das Lokal also viewed

 

Been to Das Lokal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing